Woke up with a sore left shoulder, couldn’t lift it when I woke up.  So I pushed the chest and biceps workout to tomorrow, and moved Tuesday’s meal plans to today, as they add in some more food early on and will give me energy as I recover.

I decided to workout at home tonight and monitor my shoulder, so I cancelled out of the “core flow” yoga class, an otherwise great hot yoga class with an overly healthy number of planks thrown in.

I have also decided to take neck exercises off my schedule for the foreseeable future, my neck has been tight for a few weeks, and my spine is not strong enough to do a full back bridge yet, so I decided bridge-based neck strengthener exercises were too much too fast (as they suggest in Convict Conditioning 2).

Came home, and did the Seated Dip challenge I had put off from the night before:

26 Seated Dips, 45 second rest

26, 45 sec

31, 45

31, 45

26, 45

26, 45

28, 45

65, DONE

This was a good test of my sore shoulders.  They were somewhat sore by the end, but mostly I felt a great pump in my triceps.  They were seated dips, with legs bent maybe 60 degrees, feet on floor.  I plan to build up later to high-volume sets with my feet elevated, then off a dip station, but for now this was good.  I passed the dip challenge for the day, and will move on to Week 6, the final week of that program.

 

Gave my shoulders a break as I did some ab work, the Leg Raise section of the CC book.  2 warmup sets of 20 reps of bent knee leg raises.  Then 3 sets of 30 bent leg raises.  A bent leg raise is leg extended, with a bit of a bend, not 90 degrees like the warmup sets.  I kept my hands under the small of my back this week, will slide my hands out from under me, palms down, next week.

 

Then calf raises.  Both legs, slight bend to the legs, press off the floor.  A set of 35, slight rest, set of 35, slight rest, set of 70.  I probably could have chained them closer together and gotten a better pump.

 

Went to the CC pushup portion.  After lots of dips plus the sore shoulders, plus the pushups from the night before, plus the chest workout pushed to tomorrow, I didn’t want to push it too hard.  I did a warmup set of 25 pushups against the wall, then a warmup of 20 incline pushups, against an object at waist level. Then I did a set of 30 kneeling pushups, full ROM, then a set of 12, then a set of 20.

You can guess by those numbers that my shoulders were starting to complain loudly, and you would be right.  Also, I should add, when I say full ROM, I don’t mean my chest is a fist width away from the floor, I mean until my gut is a fist width from the floor, as my gut is bigger than my chest, hahaha.  I figure if my gut is on the floor, then that’s resting, sad as that sounds.  It just becomes more obvious when I do kneeling pushups, due to the angle.

So my shoulders gave out in the second set, then I tried to rally for the third set.

 

Then I did some light hand work:  I did a set of 5 fingerpad pushups against the wall, then a set of 5 fingerpad pushups against the incline from before.  Then I did 2 sets of 10 eagle claws (isometric hand clenching exercises),  I need to buy a chinup bar so I can at least do some grip exercises hanging off the bar, my arms are so long the dining room table wont cut it, really.

Then I flushed the shoulders out, 2 minutes of swinging them through range of motion.  Then 20 seconds or so of an L-sit (straightening my arms in a chair so I am suspended in the air over the handles), then a minute or so of a held short bridge, then 1 minute or so of floor twists.

I was running low on cooked meat tonight so instead of cooking up a bunch more, I cooked some egg whites and had them for dinner along with soup.

I think I salvaged the day pretty well, despite the shoulder soreness.  Hopefully a good sleep will make the difference for tomorrow.

