I put my gameface on today.

I woke up feeling pretty good, so I decided to do some warmup pushups before heading to the gym.  Quick 35 half ROM pushups.

I wanted to do back work, but I didn’t know what my shoulder could handle, so I dialed down the weight, but tried to make up for it by cutting down on rest time, 30 sec max rest, even between exercises.

I started off with some assisted chinups, first set close grip, palms in.  Assisted for about 40% of my weight.  Did a set of 10, not a big deal.  Then switched to hammer grip, was only able to do 4, shoulder getting tired.  Especially as my arms were above my head, I didn’t want to push the girdle too hard, so I stopped.

Then I did some one arm bent over dumbbell rows, with 55 lb DBs.  Did 2 sets of 12 reps on each side, alternating with no rest.  Felt light, so that was reassuring.

Then I went to the lat pulldown machine, again I was wary about going above my head.  I did 120 pounds widegrip, 2 sets of 12, 30 sec rest. It felt good and light, but no need to push it.

Moved to the hammer strength row machine, took a close grip.  Left it at 60 pounds, but went slow and tried to feel it, and go for high reps, see if I could make it a “burn” set.  First set, did 40 reps.  Waited 30 sec, then did another set of 25 reps.  Felt tired, but not muscle exhaustion, so I guess that is ok for now.

I wanted to do cardio, but I was going to be late for work, so I left.

At work I stepped away at noon to see the doctor about my shoulder.  He refilled my scrip for a-i and xo inhibitor, and checked my blood pressure.  I have had problems with high blood pressure in the past, even after weight loss, but he said it was really good today, so I was relieved.

Went back to work, and it was someone’s birthday so I had a piece of cake… I was jacked up on energy for the rest of the day!  LOL.  I wrote down some adjustments to my gym routine:  switching out above the head movements for a while.  I will lower the weight for all other upper body work until I get the weight back up to pre injury levels, then I will add back in the above the head stuff, but at light weight, then build that back up to pre injury levels.

Remember, you need to spend as much time researching and planning and reading and thinking about your fitness strategy as you spend doing it, or you will be driving blind.

Came home, did squats: 40, rest, 45, rest, 40, rest, 40, rest, 54

Then I collapsed on the ground, lol.

No time to rest, I jumped back up and did some bent double leg calf raises, 40, 40, 40, 40.

Then I lay down on the ground and tried to do some short bridges (like thrusting your butt up into the air with your feet in close).  I did a set of 50, but with some difficulty, as my hamstrings were seizing up.  I guess doing them so close to leg work was taxing.  I tried to do another set, but only got to 23 before my right ham seized up, and I had to take a break.  Waited a few minutes, then went back for another set, slowly got through another 50, then stopped.

For fun I decided to do something different, so I set up my towel on the ground like a pillow then went into a headstand against the wall.  Head on the pillow, palms of hands on the ground to hold me up.  When I started to feel it in my neck, I pushed harder with my hands and shoulders.  I think I went for about a minute before I felt more pressure in my neck so I stopped.  I didn’t expect much so I hadn’t set up the timer.  Next time.

Overall, a pretty good day.

