Today was all about putting in my workouts here and there, wherever I could sprinkle them in.  So my day was peppered here and there with stuff.

In the morning I did some quick squats, just to benchmark my level for the squat challenge for Week 5.  I did a quick 61 squats, then went to the wall for some calf raises:  45, 45, 45, 45.  Ready for Week 5 of the Squat Challenge.

In the afternoon I realized I hadn’t done ab work in a while, so some quick leg raises (lying down):  20 bent knee raises, then 20 more, then 30 bent leg raises, 30 more, 30 more.

When I got home, I was tired of my triceps feeling sore, so I decided to punish them with some seated dips:

47 reps, (60 second) rest, 60 reps, rest, 30, rest, 32, rest, 65

My arms were aching by the end, I felt like my arms were pulling back permanently and forcing my chest out, haha.  They wouldn’t relax and just hang.  Week 6, Day 1 down of the Tricep Challenge.

Time for some light pushups.  I did 25 vertical pushups, then 20 inclined pushups, then went for kneeling pushups, the first time since my sprain.  I did 30 of them, and was feeling it in my shoulder more than my chest.  Second set I only got to 15 and had to stop.  I think maybe my hands were placed wrong and it was putting too much on my shoulder? I didn’t have this difficulty with regular pushups!  Rested, changed my hand position, and came back for another 17, then had to stop.  Rested, changed my hands again, was able to do another 9, shoulders still aching.  Changed my hands again, sucked in the gut harder, rocked forward a little more, and was able to do another set for another 17.

Funny enough, kneeling pushups seem harder to me right now than regular ones, due to poor positioning of my hands, I guess.  I wonder if I am putting too much pressure on the shoulder girdle when I do chaturanga in yoga as well?  Distinct possibility.  I might set up a private session with a teacher to take a look at it.

Summary (I am too wordy for my own good):

61 half squats

double bent leg calf raises 45, 45, 45, 45

lying leg raises:  bent knee 20, 20; bent leg 30, 30, 30

seated dips, feet on ground:  47, 60, 30, 32, 65

pushups:  25 vertical, 20 inclined, kneeling – 30, 15, 17, 9, 17

