It was such a nice sunny day, I decided to do a little hot yoga!

 

Hot yoga is actually a great idea in the summer!  60 minutes or 90 minutes in the hot room, and the heat and humidity outside doesn’t seem so bad!  I hear that some people only do hot yoga in the winter, but you are missing out!  The hot room is less crowded, and nothing clears your head and your pores like a good hot yoga class!  How could you put that on a shelf for half of the year?  Seems crazy to me.

 

I headed down to Westboro to take a class at the Pure studio (links below).  The lovely Edith was going to be guiding a 75 min yin/yang class, sort of half flows and half yin stretches.  Which was just what I wanted, I wanted to work my upper body a little bit, and stretch out my hips.

I let Edith know about my shoulder sprain, it is ALWAYS a good idea to let your yoga teacher or your trainer or whomever know about what your physical challenges are!  And I know Edith would be ready to show me modifications if I felt too worn out to keep up with the regular practice.

Surprisingly, the flows didn’t wear me out, my shoulder held together really well.  I got through all my chaturangas and down dogs and sun salutations with the kind of “hunger” you feel in strength postures when it was something your muscles were really CRAVING.  It was like I did them, and I felt like I wanted MORE.

This is an important part of listening to your body that sometimes people overlook.  You learn to listen to your body to avoid putting it through pain, or you learn when to back off from a posture.  But sometimes, you are where you need to be, doing what you need to do – and you feel like you want more… Listening to your body also means knowing when to go for it.  All 3 Warriors, extended side angles, triangles, nothing too rigorous, but strung together really well.  Lots of fun!

I was very pleased at the Yang part of class 🙂

 

Then came the Yin.

 

We did a lot of hip openers… those… were not so pleasing, haha!  The worst was near the end, at the part when I am used to doing Pigeon, and then Savasana, aka “thank god it’s pigeon that means it’s almost over”?!?  Instead we did Dragon, then Winged Dragon (I have never called it that before, but makes sense).  My body was in shock!  Halfway through the winged dragon, my breathing was rough and trembling.  I had to really push to steady my breath on each side.  I could have backed off and just relaxed, but part of me really wanted to dig into that sensation of discomfort, the special kind you get during hip openers, especially dragon for me.  So I shudder-breathed through it, it felt like an eternity, I was ready to curse and swear at Edith and tell her to stop talking, let us out of the pose, move on!!  Haha, that’s Dragon for you, it brings up a lot of emotions 🙂

By the end of that 75 min, I was quite done.  So I showered, and headed back out into the street for the rest of my day.  It was only 11:30 am, except now I was loose and rejuvenated and relaxed!  Thanks Edith!

I also saw a workshop for next Sunday for a “shoulder rehab” type class, it must have been a sign!  I signed up for that one right away 🙂

 

the studio:  www.pureyogaottawa.com

Edith’s website!  she blogs and tweets and all that good stuff!  http://edithparinas.com/

