I slept in again this morning, on purpose.  No gym for me while I let my shoulder rest.

While I was at work, I felt strong, ready to do something.  I was making plans to go to Pure tonight for some flow, when I noticed a post on Facebook from my friend Crystallina.  She was doing her last spinoga classes before she heads to India for some yoga training!  Oh no!  I decided I needed to take a class with her and say goodbye.  Plus she was bringing some cookies she made!!  That sealed the deal… coconut chocolate fudge cookies, in case you were wondering

 

 

What is spinoga?  It’s a spin class, followed by a yoga class, followed by baked goods.  This efficiently combines my love of spin, yoga, and EATING COOKIES.

 

 

So I show up, only to find out it isn’t EXACTLY Crystallina’s last class.  She is going to India in October, so she couldn’t sign up for the Goodlife slot, so someone is taking over officially, although she will still sub in for him until Octoberish.  Thursday Spinoga lives on!  For now.

On with the show.  Spin class was different than what I normally do.  I normally do “RPM”, it is a series of about 7-9 long songs with a certain strategy to each one.  Home office picks them for the first X number of weeks, then the RPM teacher can mix it up with whatever songs off previous releases they like.  But the kind of Spin classes Crys does, she picks her own setlist and has a free hand with how we bike during those songs.

She said this Spin class was all about “her favorite things”.  Inwardly I groaned.  I knew what that meant.  Glee soundtrack, with a heavy dose of Britney Spears.

The Spin class itself was great!  With shorter songs and a freehand, we could chain our standing climbs or races through multiple songs, which worked well.  Crys often does tabata intervals, but today she did not.  Today she did a pyramid:  30 seconds of heavy resistance work, followed by 30 seconds of ride easy, then 60 of heavy, 30 sec rest, 90 sec heavy, 30 rest, 120 heavy, 30 rest, 120 heavy, then 30, 90, 30, 60, 30, 30, DONE.  Was that confusing?  Basically the workloads climb 30 seconds at a time to hit 2 minutes, then lower by 30 seconds at a time… so 8 working blocks punctuated by 30 sec easy rides.  Pyramid.  I can’t explain it more than that, haha.

I myself mixed the work blocks up when I was given the choice, some were seated climbs, some were standing climbs, some were mixed terrain (up for a bit, down for a bit).  When you add up the time, obviously this took up a big chunk of the class.

After the pyramid we did some “jumps”, meaning up down up down up down, doing it about as fast as you can say it out loud.  That is always fun to end a class with, when everyone is tired!  haha, it’s a good finisher.

then we headed into the quiet room for some yoga.  I knew this yoga would be “novel” for me, since it is different in so many ways than how I typically do it:

– normally I enter yoga calm and relaxed, this one I was coming in sweaty and tired and already very warmed up

– this wasn’t a hot room

– the Goodlife classes tend to attract a more casual crowd, which is totally cool with me, you get a different vibe than a full-packed room of maniacs and stonecold yoga terminators, lol

– Crys expected us to talk back to her, I am used to a quiet room!  lol  I think she actually seemed a little hurt that the people in this class weren’t more verbal and expressive.  I think the room was pretty much either shy people who didn’t want to stick out, or yoga lovers who are used to keeping their mouths shut, haha.

So we did a mostly hip and quad oriented class, which mixes well with the Spin, natch 🙂

Some down dog to warmup, some Dragon (darn Dragon!), dragon to winged dragon, back out, to forward fold to warrior 2 to straight leg triangle to a twisted triangle.  then some pigeon to king pigeon.  some spinal twists, some quad stretches on our stomach, then some hero pose.  long super awesome savasana.  man that hour passed fast!

hard to find a good winged dragon pic

king pigeon

 

I felt super energized during and after the class!  Warrior 2 to triangle was hard on my shoulder, I had to back out of it a bunch of times.  But I tried to keep my breath steady.

After class, cookies!  I wanted to take a pic, but I ate the cookies 🙂

I did take a pic with Crystallina though!  The guy taking the pic had us stand under the studio lights, the lack of me smiling is because I was blinded!  It does make me look a little angelic though 🙂

they call this pose tree in the headlights

 

After class I hit the showers and the sauna.  In the sauna, I practiced my ujjayi breathing, one slow deep breath in and out for each plank left to right in the ceiling.  Deep breath in, feel my lungs fill with warm air, breath out.  OK, 50 planks in the ceiling.  My lips are on fire and sweat is in my eyes, but I did a little more, deep breath in and out for each plank on the far wall, right to left.  OK, only 48 planks on the far wall, how long have I been in here, 15 min?  jeez,better get out.

On the way home, while thinking about Spin, I noticed HOW MANY spiders there are at my bus station.  How lazy are the OC transpo cleaning staff??  It looked like a Stephen King novel in every corner.  People are scared to take the elevator because the webs hang so low, I know I had to double over to pass under them.  Some of these webs are like 60 cm wide!  It’s ridiculous.  I took a pic of one away from the main tunnels, although it doesn’t show up well on camera.

Personally, I think spiders are kinda cool.  But it’s irresponsible to let them turn our bus station into the final scene of IT.

 

Oh well, awesome day!  Want to take one of Crystallina’s classes?  Check out her facebook page here:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Spin-and-Yoga-with-Crystallina/180111792035158

