The plan was to do some back & biceps, and then some Friday night hot yoga.  And then Thursday night I had a massive bout of insomnia.  that giant post yesterday, Day 18?  Yeah, that was me staying up past 1 am.  Hard to wake up at 5 am when you went to sleep around 2, haha!

So I slept in pretty hard, then rushed to work, all unshowered and bummy.  I just hid out in the cube at work, preparing work and emailing it out, I was not ready to jump to the front stage and be an office hero today.  I felt sooo tired, I didn’t even want coffee, I was past that.  I have gone hard on the coffee this month, but I am feeling this growing sensation inside that I want to cold turkey for a bit, detox all that mess out.  Must be the yoga side of me getting assertive 🙂

After work, I headed home and napped for a bit.  I decided that if yoga went well, maybe I could find a late night gym and lift after.  That might have been a pipe dream, but w/e.

It was Friday night hot yoga, meaning all proceeds go to charity, and the class fills up with a more casual crowd.  Not to say they aren’t good, lots of great looking practice in this group, but they aren’t as formal, they have to be shushed occasionally, they leave their phones on, that sort of thing.

A funny thing happened to me tonight.  For most of the month I have stayed at the back of the class.  I don’t feel like my practice is any good, I feel rusty and OUT of practice, I don’t feel like I have “earned” a spot up front, don’t want people to see me, etc etc.  I just wanted to sweat and toil in the back for the most part.

And then tonight, I walked in early, I had the whole room to choose from, and I felt like moving up.  I wanted to be in the lights, with everyone looking at me, I wanted a strong and proud practice.  I found a spot to the right side but in the middle.

I wasn’t breathtaking or anything, but I was controlled and confident the whole class.  Sure there was a guy to my right popping up into a full back bridge when I was merely lifting my pelvis up, and there was a woman to my left popping out headstands while I was doing wide leg forward folds, but that didn’t matter.  I just wanted to be at the front of the pack tonight 🙂

As it turns out, I think the class was maybe a little TOO confident.  When we were in Warrior 2, and the teacher told us to flip our palms over, half the class was already leaning back into reverse warrior.  And when she said “trikonasana” (aka triangle pose, aka bend forward, not backward), the majority of the people leaning back kept leaning back!

Class grinded to a brief pause as she gently reiterated she wanted them to bend their torsos forward… “you guys are on yoga autopilot tonight”.  That might have been part of it, they might have done the same sequence so many times they were just going through the motions.  Meaning they weren’t moving mindfully.  It could also be that they were agitated and anticipating moving into reverse warrior because warrior 2 was unpleasant, or they wanted to speed through the practice.

At any rate, it can be hard to wait for the verbal direction.  I know sometimes in yoga class it seems like the teacher is just… talking… so… darn… slow!  We have all cursed under our breath, “hurry up!”  But in this case, the teacher was not prolonging the agony, the class was just being a little sloppy.  Not me of course! *pats self on back*  I waited for the verbal cue, went into triangle, and cocked my head quizzically as everyone around me did something totally different.

Inspired by this turn of events, the teacher threw a few different wrinkles into the practice, to keep us on our toes, so to speak.  Breaking up the pigeon on each side with some wide leg forward folds, for example.

And the best part about this practice?  I came out of it feeling strong, like I was ready to do more!  I haven’t felt that in a while, and this was a fairly forgiving sequence tonight, but still!  For once I walked out feeling energized 🙂  I hope I have more challenge days like this!

I was ready to go to the gym to do some late night lifting, but as if on cue, my neighbour texted me, asking if I wanted to go to an early morning spin class tomorrow 🙂  So I put back and biceps on the backburner, and came home to get some sleep!

Plan for tomorrow is spin, back, biceps, hot yoga!  Eek!  Full day!  See you then!

