Monday I woke up feeling rough.  I decided to sleep in.  Lazed around all morning, had another nap at noon.  Eek, running out of time!  I called the massage place to book an appt for 3:15.  Then I took a shower.  When I got out of the shower I felt REALLY shaky and cold and weak.  So I got under the covers, and fell asleep for ANOTHER 80 min, until 2:45.  Then I had to rush to the massage place.

I got really worried I was coming down with a bug, or fighting something off.  Or my battery might just be really low, or I am detoxing off coffee, or something I ate didn’t agree with me, or a combination of all of those.  I decided to take it one step at a time, take my tasks on one by one and assess each time.  First step, get a massage.

It was an hour long massage, and it felt REALLY good.  I asked her to try and use her massage magic to bring my energy up.  She worked knots out of my shoulders, rolled on my inflamed IT band, rubbed my feet, rubbed my scalp, did it all!  I left the massage place, had a Booster Juice (green tea and echinacea with protein and blueberries and froyo), and tried to self-assess.  I decided I was ready to try working out with Leslie.

Made it to the studio, warned Leslie about feeling shaky.  We decided to give it a go.  Today we were going to run a Pull day:  Back, Biceps, some hammys

warm-up 5 min on elliptical

Deadlift in the Cage:  135×12, 225×6, 225×7, 135×12

the 135

the 135

Assisted Pullups:  8, 8, 8

my assist band, looped under one knee

my assist band, looped under one knee

Lying Hamstring Curls on the exercise ball:  12, 12, 12

Closegrip Pulldowns:  190×12, 200×12, 210×12

yup, full stack! time to find a harder exercise

yup, full stack! time to find a harder exercise

Bicep Curls:  75×12, x10, x12

damn paparazzi!

damn paparazzi!

notes:  we went with a good solid fullbody exercise first, to see how shaky I was.  135 looked way easy, and we just decided to GIVE ‘ER, and jump up to 2 plates, 225.  That might be the heaviest I have gone on deadlifts in recent memory, Leslie said my form looked pretty good, so I am happy.  I could have prob done more reps, but my grip was going.  Then we did a 4th set of lighter weight higher reps.

As well on the pullups, Leslie remarked that my form was looking better, I was activating my back more.  Good stuff!

Unfortunately on the bicep curls, I just psyched myself out or something.  Leslie walked in front of me to spot me on the second set, and I just quit.  I set it down, had to pull it back up and continue.  So for the third set, I just focused hard, tried to get myself worked up, and did them.  Leslie said the third set looked a lot better than that sorry-ass second set.

I must admit, I was actually feeling better after the workout than I did before the workout, so I decided to tempt the fates and go do my daily yoga.  I again decided to try something different, there was an 8 pm class at one of the Goodlifes, not a hot room, just good old fashioned room temp yoga.  When I showed up, there was an I think Irish woman named Deanna there, leading us through the practice.

I gotta admit, that was pretty weird, pretty different, and actually a lot of fun!  She took us through an entire hour of stretching our Achilles’ Tendons and strengthening our wrists.  We would put our hands in reverse prayer behind our backs, stand on our tiptoes, and slowly lower ourselves down into a full squat.  Lots of crunchy knees that class, haha.  We also spent a lot of time spiralling our hands outwards, which served to both pack our shoulders backwards, and also fire up our forearms a little bit, also the effect on the wrists.  We did those squats with 3 or 4 different hand position variations:  reverse prayer, fingers interlaced behind back, etc.  We went into full squat, then did twists.  We went into pigeon, then did some twists in pigeon (like twisted dragon, but in pigeon).  And we did lots of wrist stretches, leaning forward on our wrists, etc.  The wrist stuff reminded me of when I did martial arts when I was younger, we always put our wrists through all sorts of ranges of motion to keep them solid.

It wasn’t exactly the most physically demanding class, I don’t think I even broke a sweat, but I can’t remember the last time I gave those joints a good session, so it was totally worth it!  All kinds of yoga out there!

Deanna and I after class

Deanna and I after class

Day 29 down!  So close I can taste it!!

