The plan for today was spin, then some shoulders, and if I felt like I had the juice left then do some arms, maybe yoga later on?

Showed up for some Sunday morning spin with Andrea.  The class wasn’t very full!  I think the November rush has fizzled out and now people are shopping and partying.  But wait for January!  It will be pandemonium. (no neighbour today, he had a brunch)

Spin class was good as always, went through the regular routine:  warmup races, some harder races, some standing climbs and power climbs, mixed terrain, intervals, another long race, one more good climbing song (climbing mixed with downhill races), then a cooldown song, some stretches.  I think Andrea might have been rockin out too hard to the intervals song, she knocked the iPod off the shelf, and we just kept biking along until it was all set up again (to her credit, she got the timing exactly right on the next stage of the spinwork when the music kicked back in, so the train didn’t derail entirely).  The song she was rocking out too much to?  Brick by Boring Brick.

I was feeling good and sweaty and warmed up after that 60 min class, so I went to do some shoulders!  The name of the game today was limited rest:  short short rests between sets, heavier lifts mixed with lighter lifts.

Shoulders:

seated dumbbell presses:  100 x 13, 8, 5, 3, 4 (30 sec rest for the first 2 breaks, 45 sec rest for the last 2 breaks)

dumbbell lateral raises:  50 x 10, 8, 5, 5, 2 (30 sec rest at each break)

cable reverse flys:  55 x 10, 5, 5, 6  33 x 7, 7, 7, 8, 8, 7  (10 sec rest each break only!)

cable face pulls (using rope):  38 x 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10  (10 sec rest each break)

dumbbell shrugs:  160 x 10, 10, 8, 7  (30 sec rest each break)

 

notes:  this workout was brutal!  I needed a few minutes between each exercise just to recompose myself.  After those reverse flys especially, I could barely lift my arms.  I scrapped my arms plans and crawled out of the gym to escape home and hide, I was traumatized.  After a few hours of rest at home, I also scrapped my yoga plans, rest and recover was sorely needed.  I didn’t injure myself, but goddamn!  It was rough.

With the seated presses, it was hard just swinging the dumbbells up to my shoulders (by the way, when I type 100 with dumbbells, I mean 2 x 50 lb dumbbells.  If I was pressing 100 lb dumbbells, I would take a picture, haha!  That’s just how I type it, 2 x 80 lb dumbbells for the shrugs, for example.  I report the total weight.)

Those seated presses were pretty hard.  I mean, the first set is ALWAYS very doable.  But with a limited rest, it all goes downhill QUITE fast, lol.  I even increased the rest to 45 sec, and still I couldn’t pop them up any more.

The lat raises were also quite hard, but I had been doing a lot of drop sets with those lately, so it wasn’t all that draining.

For the reverse flys and the face pulls, I wanted to go light and go even MORE often:  10 sets of 10, with 10 sec rest between each set!  I thought 55 lbs was light with the flys, but I was WRONG.  Even by set 2 I was failing out.  After 4 sets of mediocrity, I dropped the weight by 33% and the reps went up a bit, but not for long.

Actually you saw the reps go up from 7 to 8 by the eighth set, not because I was rallying for energy, but because I was accidentally taking longer than 10 seconds, lol.  I was trying to keep track of sets and reps in my head, and I needed to repeat it a few times to myself or I would have totally been lost.  I should have been writing them down, but 10 sec isn’t a lot of time!

The other problem is that I wanted to stay ready, and since it is awkward gathering the cables with the opposite hand, I just hung onto them between sets.  This meant the cables were still pulling on my arms a little between sets, so the rest still had some tension to it, and my arms were tied up holding onto the cables and I couldn’t write anything down.

At any rate, that exercise killed me!  My shoulders ached and burned pretty good, even if I couldn’t keep it at 10 sec rest.

For the face pulls, I dropped the weight a little more than planned, considering how tough the flys were.  That was a good idea, I was able to bust out 10 sets of 10, MUCH easier to keep track of in your head, haha.

While I was finishing up with some shrugs, I saw that same old guy who does all the f’ed up moves screwing around some more with the lat pulldowns.  At first I thought he was trying to do straight arm pulldowns, but then I saw him put his feet against the edge of the seat and then lean back and try to do face pulls…. um, WTF.  I’m sure it sounded good in his head, but to look at it executed, he looked like he was about to be catapulted by the pulldown machine across the gym.  Might I add he also could barely lower the weight back down without faceplanting into the machine.  I started to get a little mad, since he was being so stupid, and risking not only injury to himself, but to others around him.  I should really talk to staff about him.

 

And that was the WOD!  Time to announce I went to the gym on FB, like every other tool, HAHAHA!  Later!

