Yeah, I got pretty lazy for a few days there, did nothing on Christmas Day or Boxing Day, just drinking and eating and chaos and debauchery and shame and ruin.

And then I had work on the 27th!

work was empty, boring.  I had a few things I could do, but I didn’t want to go through my meagre workpile too quick, or else I really would be stuck.  Noone was in the office, just me.  Boring.  I kept hoping Jennifer Connelly would be found curled up in one of the cubicles, so we could go rollerskating, and foil a robbery.

This was my favorite movie when I was 14… well, it was either a toss up between this or Predator.

After work, I headed to the gym, wondering to myself if it would be crowded.  Seems not!  I guess people wait until New Years to commit to the gym.  I figured an arm day would be fun.

 

Arms:

warm-up

skullcrushers (90s rest b/w sets):  70 x 10, 10, 7, 6, 5, 6

seated two-hand extension (90s rest):  65 x 10, 10, 10, 10, 8, 9

bicep curl machine (90s rest):  90 x 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10

seated dumbbell curls (90s rest):  40 x 10, 7, 10, 10, 8, 7

cardio:  elliptical 40 min. 70% resistance, incline 9

 

notes:  I wasn’t entirely happy with how it went.  I don’t think I warmed up enough.  My focus could have been sharper, more intense, and I felt like I could have been a lot stronger.  Lately I have been playing around with my cardio component, and while in the past I saved cardio until last so I could have more total energy for the weights, I have noticed lately that I have better sessions when I do cardio FIRST.  The last few times I did the 40-60 min of cardio first, I just do better all around.  Like my most recent shoulder session, for example.  Seems counterintuitive, but I have to listen to what works for my body – cardio first from now on, for the foreseeable future.

 

Skullcrushers, I ran out of gas fast, but the extensions went a little better.  I was really happy with the curl machine! That was a success.  My mind wandered a bit during the dumbbell curls, so I rallied and did better after the second set.

 

Was that the last arm day of 2012?  So sad!  I will miss you, 2012 arm sessions.

