It was cold today, but luckily, I wanted to test out the home TRX kit anyways! Well, it was kind of a test of how strong my doors and doorframes are, and where will give me the most free space to flail around with my arms, haha.

 

I tried out the chest and back routine that is included with the basic home kit

Chest & Back:

A.  chest press x 5, rest 15 sec

B.  one arm chest press x 5 (each side), rest 15 sec

clock press, AKA one arm pushup

C.  flyes x 15, rest 15 sec

D.  low rows x 5, rest 15

E.  mid row x 10, rest 15

F.  high rows x 15, rest 15

Repeat A-F, 2 more times

 

I got the whole thing done while dinner was cooking on the stove, yay!  I figured the rests were optional, so I didn’t rest in between the chest sets or the back sets first time through the circuit, I just went A-C and D-F no rest.  But by the 3rd set I took a brief rest in between each exercise, so I figured that was fatigue, good!

Did I like it??  Well, TRX has its place.  It is SUPER convenient, I can bust out all kinds of exercises while in the middle of my chores, I can see myself dragging it around when I travel… it takes up no space at all!  I am not slagging how hard it is, I can easily make it as hard as I can handle, or as easy as I need.  and yet… I feel really good when I am pumping iron.  It is a different vibe.  Something is very satisfying about iron in a way that bodyweight exercises are not; and even fancy suspension bodyweight exercises like these don’t give that same thrill.

 

So, yes.  I like TRX.  I think it will be JUST what I need first thing in the morning when I need a pick-me-up, or in the afternoon on a weekend when I am being lazy and this way I can get some resistance training in without locking down my whole afternoon.  But it won’t replace the gym, not by a longshot 🙂

