Cold, snowy day in Ottawa.  Wet flakes of snow kept falling all day, blotting out the sun and blocking the traffic.  Buses run slower, people walk slower.

I woke up, and felt like a morning pick-me-up.  TRX at 5 am, yesssss

TRX Basic Arms & Shoulders routine

A.  Biceps Curl x 10, rest 15 sec

B.  Triceps Press x 10, rest 15 sec

C.  Y Fly x 15, rest 15 sec

REPEAT A-C, 2 more times

D.  Clutch Curl x 10, rest 15 sec

E.  Reverse Grip Triceps Press x 10, rest 15 sec

F.  W Fly x 15, rest 15 sec

REPEAT D-F, 2 more times

notes:  I sipped on protein powder and water while I did this, since I normally wake up as hungry as a bear (waking up starving is my best trick to getting me up at 5 am, or else I just roll over and go back to sleep, haha).  By the time I was done this routine (roughly 20 min), my oatmeal was done cooking!

Doing biceps with the TRX is ok, but I don’t know if it was quite hard enough to really push me.  My problem is that I don’t think I have the setup quite right, if I lean on it with all my weight, the straps slip out a little (I have them on the shortest length and they lengthen on me) and my barefeet kinda slip on the carpet haha.  I need to tinker with it a bit and see how I can keep the straps snug and tight.  It was hard though, I was grunting the whole time, for what it’s worth.

Nothing beats a good old-fashioned dumbbell curl though 😛

Reverse grip triceps press felt good once I got the form down.

OK! The plan after work was I rush to my backup gym and try to make the Spin class.  Tonight they were running 3 classes in a row!  Score! This would be great for my spinathon prep, 3 hours of Spin.

I told Leslie on sunday that I needed to cancel the Monday session so I could do a triple Spin.  She looked at me dubiously.  I think she was worried it was a ruse for me to skip out on exercise altogether.  I can’t get too mad at her, that does actually sound like me… skip my gym session so I can do spin, then not do spin.  Oh well, that’s ok, I don’t need the support.  Sometimes you have to stand on your own.

So I slip and slide my way from work to the bus stop, squeeze into a crowded and shitty bus, get to the gym with half an hour to spare… then they tell me that the classes were ALL booked since Noon.  I guess at this gym they let you book cardio classes by phone starting the day before.  I had never done a class at this backup gym of mine before, only weights.  Yeah me.

So even when I try to do the right thing, it looks like I am still trying to weasel my way out of it.  Pissed and a little downcast, I went home to the apt building to do some rowing in my apt building basement, where I could be alone and grumpy.  When I got home I noticed I had left the stove burner on all day!  From the oatmeal.  What a lovely day!

So I cancelled my PT appointment and screwed up the spin classes.  I got in a TRX workout and 45 min of rowing.  Nice try, but no cigar.

And how was your day?

 

