Thursday night I played some more with the TRX.

 

Chest/Tri:

press x 5, clock press x 10 (each side), flyes x 15, tricep press x 10, reverse grip tricep press x 10

rest about 60 sec, REPEAT two more times

notes:  I was getting a nice pump in the triceps near the end, especially if I lowered myself deep into it before pressing back up.  I realized I had interpreted clock press wrong, it is supposed to be press with one arm, fly with the other, so that’s how I did it here.  My big issue was that the straps kept SLIPPING.  It is nervous work to lean on something with your whole weight without knowing when it will give out on you.  Obviously something needs to be fixed with the “barrel lock adjusters”, they are not catching and the shortened strap keep slipping forward. (they are the things near the handle that you have to tilt to lengthen the strap back out)

 

core:  torso rotation x 10 (each side), rest 15 sec, REPEAT

TRX crunch x 10, extended side plank 30 sec (each side), REST 60 sec, REPEAT

TRX pike x 10, TRX mountain climber x 10 (per leg), REST 60 sec, REPEAT

prone straight leg raises x 20, 20

 

notes:  Core was TOUGH!  Torso rotations are easy to cheat on, you have to keep your arms straight or you start to pull with your back.  My elbows were starting to bend, so I found it tough.

I decided to do normal side planks, side planks on the TRX are super awkward, and I just wanted to work on my side planks, instead of wobbling around like a crazy man 🙂

I was no superathlete on the pikes either.  I kept my legs straight and just lifted my butt straight up, but it didn’t go so high as to make me look like a V, more like a heartbeat on a monitor, haha.  I didn’t do a full set of mountain climbers on the second round, my feet got tangled up and I just said screw it and stopped, haha.

Then I did leg raises, but I slipped my hands under the small of my back to make it easier so I could get more reps out.  I noticed that it was creating a space between my lower back and the ground, so whenever I lifted my legs up, my back fat made a “raspberry” sound against the rubber mat.  Very flattering, haha!  As a guy, I found this deeply amusing 🙂

 

I was super sweaty after all of this, took a shower, and am typing this out.  Off to bed then back to work before I know it!  See you later!

 

 

