Sunday I wanted to catch up on the stuff that had been lagging.  I wanted to get in some solid cardio, I wanted some work on my triceps and shoulders.  So it shall be done!

I showed up for a double Spin class.  We were in the last few rotations of Release 57, so the music was known in advance, but Andrea (the instructor) decided to switch in some of the bonus tracks for some of the midpoint songs.  If I think I am tired of those tracks after spinning to them 7 or 8 times, imagine her teaching them 20 or 30 times!

The first class was pretty hard, I poured everything I could into it.  My right calf got a little tight, but I dropped my heel more and it went away.  Overall, I am pretty happy with it, my focus was there and the work felt smooth, I had some hard climbs and raced hard on the straightaways.  During the last working track I think the magnet slipped a bit because all of a sudden the tension became HARD out of nowhere, and I had to to turn it back down, but when I turned it up a second later I didn’t notice it again and it never came back.

In between classes, my friend dropped by to do the second class with me.  When I went to fill up on water, Andrea told me it looked like I was doing really well with the double classes, I looked good on the bike.  I take that as a big compliment!

I rocked out the second class as well, no major issues.  The second hour went by so fast, I almost kind of wanted a third!  But two were all that were on the schedule, so I went to do some weightlifting instead.

I decided to do a mid-light and quick Push session.  After 2 hours of RPM I didn’t really feel like doing legs so I just worked the calves a bit; and I had a really good chest session on Thursday, so I decided on some triceps, some shoulders, and only a little chest.  No need to overtrain.

Sunday Push:

standing bodyweight calf raises:  85, 85, 85 (rest of about a minute between sets)

closegrip dumbbell floor press:  110 x 6, 6, 6, 6  (45 sec rest)

incline dumbbell flyes:  80 x 6, 6, 6, 6 (45 sec rest)

one hand seated tricep dumbbell extension:  30 x 6/6, 6/6, 6/6, 6/6 (45 sec)

lateral raises:  50 x 6, 6, 6, 6 (45 sec)

overhead shrugs:  110 x 12, 12, 12, 12 (45 sec)

 

notes:  I don’t do floor press very often.  I used the 55 lb dumbbells, I wanted to use the 60s, but this other guy was using one set, and I couldn’t find the other set.  I have never done closegrip floor press, it didn’t feel too bad, would do again.

The inclines flyes felt REALLY good.  I think I waited the right amount of time to do more chest.  My last session was Thursday, and I had some mild DOMS going on there, so these flyes helped stretch it out a bit.

I had never done overhead shrugs before either.  It was a different feeling to try and engage my traps in that way.  Didn’t feel too bad though, could go heavier next time for sure.

 

And that was my Sunday!  How was yours?  Any good workouts?

 

