When I showed up for my session with Leslie, we quickly decided we had not had a leg day in a while.  Bring it on!

warmup on the elliptical for 10 minutes

Squats:  135 x 15, 155 x 12, 185 x 10

had some good depth when we upped the weight

had some good depth when we upped the weight

Single Leg Press: (each leg)  180+sled x 15. 270+sled x 15, 15

IMG_1908

Stiff-Legged Deadlifts:  95 x 12, 135 x 10, 10

stretching out the lower back

stretching out the lower back

IMG_1913

Bulgarian Split Squats:  (each leg) bodyweight x 12, 12, 12

My name is Jeremy. You killed my father. Lunges, prepare to die.

My name is Jeremy. You killed my father. Lunges, prepare to die.

Hyperextensions:  bodyweight x 12, 12, 12

IMG_1918

 

notes:  Leslie’s leg workouts are always deadly with a capital Deadlift, but what can I say?  I volunteered for this one.  I was in the right state of mind.

I haven’t done squats in a while, they felt pretty good.  Looking forward to 225!  Leslie said I am getting better depth and am rounding my back less, so my form is improving.  Woohoo!

Leg presses went pretty well, I think I managed to go slightly heavier than I usually go, so also good.

My form has much improved on the stiff legged deadlifts, aka Romanian deadlifts!  This makes me happy.  I had struggled with them a few months back, practicing with the dumbbells has helped me get comfortable with my form.

They may be called Bulgarian split squats, but I know a lunge when I see one!  I hate you lunges, one day you will die and I will do split squats on your grave.  My back foot wasn’t raised too high, but we put in a lot of work to make sure I was getting enough depth on the bend, front ham must touch Leslie’s hand or back knee must touch ground, one of the two.

The hyperextensions were nice to throw in at the end because my lower back felt tired from the other stuff, and this helped finish it off.

 

And that was my day!  How was yours?  Any good workouts?

