My apologies for not posting sooner.  I have been feeling sick all week.  Some sort of flu.  On top of that, sometimes when I am fighting off a bug, my digestive system just shuts down,  Food doesn’t move through me, I get all backed up.  Over time this forces me too eat less and less, so I start to get weaker, and have less energy to fight off the bug.  It is a vicious circle.

I have been making extensive use of fibre and digestive enzymes all week to help me get right on the inside, and lots of rest to fight off the flu.  Unfortunately, all that fibre and the enzymes, they really wear on my stomach a lot, it turns the gut into a battleground.  By the end of the week, my stomach was sore, it hurt.  Like it was in shock and needed a lot of rest.

Anyways, not a lot of spin this week, which is unfortunate, as I have the spinathon next week!  I did a chest and back workout on Wednesday, but I was pretty wobbly at that point, so it was a pretty lacklustre workout.

By Saturday, I was ready to test the wheels out again.

Spin class was crowded!  They only put up the signup sheet 15 min before the class, and there was a lineup of about 30 people!  Zoinks!  I stood in line and got a spot (my friend was not so lucky, and was denied, looks like I am on my own this time).

By the time I made it to the bikes, there weren’t a lot of choices left.  The one I grabbed had no straps, you needed the hard shoes you click onto the mounts, so I had to trade with a neighbour for foot straps (he had the hard shoes).

The class was being led by Mandy.  I have mixed feelings about Mandy (sorry to call you out Mandy! I am sure you wont see this).  She has been teaching for a while, and her curriculum is solid.  But Mandy “demands” a certain level of enthusiasm in her class.  By that I mean if you don’t start hooting and hollering on command, she nags you.  She starts to whip out the sarcasm, “REALLY feeling the enthusiasm in here today!”  she singles people out and tries to talk right to them.

My objection to that is that if the teacher chatter isn’t related to the spinning, then to me it’s just noise, and I try to tune it out.  You may as well be speaking to me in Chinese, I just don’t respond.  I don’t hoot and holler when it’s asked for, I don’t respond to queries about whether we want it easier or harder.  I am not a “participater”,  just tell me how to run the course and I will do it.

Unfortunately, Mandy eventually zeroed in on me.  She asked some question to the class, I don’t remember what it was, something meaningless, and then she turns to look at me, and she waits for a response.  I just stare back at her.  She starts to make little motions with her head, little micro-nods and rhetorical “yeah?”s waiting for me to talk back.  I just stare at her, I think at one point I shrugged.  Mandy tried to engage the class in my silence, “does he want us to RANDOMQUESTION?  Nope?  He’s more like, NO, stop looking at me.”  A few people in class chuckle at my expense, and we keep going.

After that fairly irritating class, I decided not to do 2 in a row.  You’re a fine RPM instructor Mandy, but being an enthusiasm nag is NOT my style.  Your class seems popular though, so more power to you.  Just not for me.

I went to the other side of the gym to try out a new shoulder and arm routine.  Let the brutality commence!

shoulders & arms:

barbell military press (2 min rest):  65 x 5, 95 x 5, 115 x 5, 5, 7

seated DB press (60s rest):  100 x 8; 90 x 8, 6; 80 x 8, 8, 8, 8, 7

cable reverse flyes (4-2-4 cadence, 90s rest):  55 x 8; 33 x 12, 12

face pulls w/rope:  (10s rest!):  28 x 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10

DB skullcrushers (60s rest):  60 x 6; 40 x 8, 8, 8, 8, 8

seated 2-handed DB extension (4-2-4 cadence, 90s rest):  50 x 7; 40 x 7; 30 x 7

incline DB curls (60s rest):  30 x 8/8, 8/8, 8/8, 8/8, 8/8, 8/8

concentration curls (4-2-4 cadence, 60-90s rest):  25 x 5/6; 20 x 10/10, 8/8

notes:  time really got away from me while doing this workout.  It felt like allout war!  I was totally mentally absorbed in it.  Even though I looked at the clock to take note of rest times, I didn’t check the overall time.  When I finally did, I realized this was like a 90 minute workout!  Zoinks!  60 min Spin followed by 90 min weights, no wonder this workout was kicking my ass.

And it WAS kicking my ass.  I took a shower, crawled out of the gym, came home, and took a long nap on the couch.  This one was nasty!

I made it rhough the shoulder presses, but the ultra-slow cable flyes were murder on my rear delts.  Then I powered through some marathon face pulls, but the damage was done, I had little to no gad left in the tank for my arms workout.  This shoulder workout would have been perfect for me by itself, but with arms added in, it was BRUTAL.  I had to keep dropping the weightson the arm exercises because I couldn’t make it happen any more.

I tried the “twisting” during the incline curls, like I did last week, but I wasn’t feeling it this time.  I think my biceps were more warmed up by that point last week, so the twisting worked, but my biceps were still warming up during this workout, so there was no “pump” to twist off of.  Oh well, still learning.  I stopped the twisting for Set 3 onwards.

This one had it all, some good 5×5 compounds, lots of volume, slow rep isolation finishers.  Scary workout!  But worth it.

And how about you?  Any good workouts today?

