I wanted to start a new routine:  a 6 day split that hits the muscles twice a week.  So basically two 3 day cycles with a rest day in between.  Cardio everyday.  Eat clean.  I ran some ideas past Leslie, and she loved them!  Loved them so much that when I showed up for our appt today she suggested we use the routine I suggested!  Score!  I am flattered 🙂

Today was the first day of this new routine.  I had wanted to wake up and do some morning Spin.  Unfortunately, things did not get off to the most impressive start.  I am still getting over the cold/flu that I had Sunday, so my energy was not high.  I was also sore from the Spinathon – left Achilles tendon, left knee, left shoulder, and my left grip was still really weak.  Basically the Spinathon exposed that I have a weak left side, technique-wise.  So I was not 100%.  But I rested most of the day Sunday and Monday and showed up Monday night, still determined to rock it, to the best of my ability.

Leg & Shoulders:

warmup:  10 minutes on the rowing machine, then 10 minutes on the elliptical

(rest between all sets is 30 seconds, unless otherwise noted)

Squats:  135 x 15, 12, 12, 12

IMG_1959

Quad Extensions: 120 x 15, 140 x 15, 160 x 15

IMG_1962

Stiff-Legged Deadlift:  115 x 15, 12, 12, 12

IMG_1965

Lying Leg Curls:  75 x 15, 12, 12

IMG_1966

Dumbbell Shoulder Press:  80 x 15, 12, 10, 8

Cable Lateral Raise: 20 x 15/15, 12/12, 12/12

IMG_1972

Reverse Cable Flyes: 20 x 15, 12, 12, 12

IMG_1974

Dumbbell Shrugs:  140 x 15, 15, 15, 9

IMG_1976

Standing Bodyweight Calf Raises:  70, 60, 50, 50

Prone Leg Raises (60 sec rest):  20, 15, 15

Cooldown:  10 min on elliptical

notes:  the workout was tough! we packed a lot in there.  in the end, I asked to move the ab work and the calf work to after the workout, so I could do them on my own time.  the workout was longer than an hour, so I opted to do calf and ab stuff after Les had moved on to her next client.

I asked to go light on the squats, I wanted to see how much gas was in my tank considering the bug I was fighting off.  My left knee started off a little sore, but it had warmed up sufficiently by the end that it wasn’t sore during the 4th set.  I think going light was a good idea.

With the extensions we kept getting heavier every set so I could test how I was feeling.  My energy was kicking in and I felt fine.

SLDL’s were tough!  I started out ok, but my form was getting sloppy near the end.  Still a tough exercise for me, but I am getting better at it.

My shoulders were still super faded from the spinathon, and they ran out of gas fast on the presses.  but they held up a little better on the lat raises.  I have never done lat raises with cables before!  I like em 🙂

During the shrugs, I could feel my left grip giving out.  I feel bad about that last set, my grip was gone but my traps wanted more punishment.  Oh well.

Glad I braved the elements and soldiered through this bug to do this workout!  Even not at 100%, I feel I gave 100% of what I had.  All thanks to Leslie, she pushed me to excel!

IMG_1979

And how was your Monday?  Any good workouts!

