I AM tired though.  I barely made it through the last few workouts, spin classes are getting harder and harder, I have SO earned a day of rest!  Friday was the last day of the second 3 day microcycle in the 6 day split.  It was also a fairly hectic week at work, I am getting over a cold or something, etc etc

Friday I got up, made it to the gym in time for 6 am spin class!  I have no idea how, I barely made it.  Les and a bunch of her clients were there spinning too, Les is like a magnet for morning cardio, she is able to make like 3 or 4 extra people come out.  She is like a shepherd of morning cardio, gathering her flock.

Andrea was leading this spin class, and the class was tough!  Sweat was streaming down my face about 4 songs in.  It wasn’t just me, other people were asking if classes were ALWAYS this hard.  Andrea said no, it’s just her classes… haha!  So yeah this class kicked peoples’ butts.  I hung out in the back and worked as hard as I could, but I barely made it through.

After I wrapped up my shfit at work, I headed to the studio for a Legs and Shoulders session with Les!  I admit, I was SOOO tired.  I got to the workout early, but I couldn’t bring myself to do any cardio.  I did 5 min on the elliptical, then I went into the mens washroom and slept on the toilet for 5 min, haha!  Then I came back into the studio and slept on the incline bench for another 5 min.

Then it was time for my session!  We did some business first, scheduled some sessions, then got to it.

Legs and Shoulders (30 sec rest between sets)

45 degree Leg Press:  450 x 15, 15, 15, 15

Lunges holding 2 x 40 lb Kettlebells:  approx 12 each leg (24 total) – 12, 12, 12

I hate you lunges!

I hate you lunges!

Stiff-Legged Deadlift:  115 x 12, 12, 12

Standing Bodyweight Calf Raises:  85, 85, 85, 85

wakin up the calves!

wakin up the calves!

Lying Leg Curls:  75 x 15, 15, 12; 50 x 15

IMG_1985

Dumbbell Shoulder Press:  80 x 15, 15, 12, 10

Dumbbell Lat Raise:  40 x 12, 12; 30 x 12

Cooldown:  35 min cardio

notes:  we just plain ole ran out of time.  I could have kept doing the exercises on my own, but I said screw it, I will just get my cardio in and then go home.  So, no reverse flyes or upright rows or ab work.

I was running out of gas pretty good anyways, lat raises my form had gone to shit, my hamstrings couldn’t curl any more, and my gym clothes smelled like the guy McDonalds hires to quality test all their new sandwich ideas… or at least his underpants.  A old pair of dingy offwhite underpants with a broken elastic band, worn twice a week by a guy who eats experimental McDonalds every day.  He would probably look like one of the people from the Hills Have Eyes.

Wait, what was I talking about?  OK, I stunk.  One of the other trainers claimed I smelled like bacon.

I crawled home and died.  And that was my workout today!  I barely made it through the day, a bookend to a tough week.  How about you?  Any good workouts?

