This morning I got up, had some peanut butter with a banana (a fav at 5 am!) and then went to the gym.

6 am Monday morning spin class, whuuuuutttt???  Yeah, it was ok.  I am getting used to the morning cardio.  Whereas last week I barely made it out alive, this week I feel stronger.  That means its time to tighten it up.  More on that later.

After spin, I headed to work.  Work flew by.

Then I headed to the studio for a session with Leslie the trainer.  Back and biceps!

warmup:  20 min on the elliptical, variable resistance

30 sec rest between all sets

Widegrip Pulldowns:  220 x 15, 15, 15, 15

IMG_1989

Bent Over Barbell Rows:  115 x 12, 12, 12

IMG_1990

Weighted Hyperextensions:  35 lb plate for 12, 12, 12

one hand Dumbbell Row:  50 x 12, 12, 12

IMG_1993

Dumbbell Curls:  60 x 12, 12, 12, 12

IMG_1997

Preacher Curls:  50 x 15, 14, 12

IMG_1999

 

notes:  this was a short workout!  Les and I had extra time.  This is good to know – we can whip this one out when we are short on time.

I went light on the bent over rows and the dumbbell rows.  On one hand I wanted Les to check my form, on the other hand, I was wimping out, haha.  Past experiences this week and a half have led me to be very conservative with the weight, when I chop the rest periods down so much.  My fears were misplaced, I can go heavier next time on both without concern.

The hyper extensions got me heated up pretty good though.  By the time I was doing DB rows, sweat was streaming down my face!

The DB curls went better than I thought.  There might have been a little “body english” near the end, but it’s hard to tell if that was due to me failing or just me being a jackass.  So screw it, I go heavier next time 🙂

I failed out of the preachers though.  They are a good bicep finisher.

 

During our extra time, Les went over my diet.  I have cut carbs down to almost nothing (you would be amazed), but she zeroed in on my peanut butter!  DOH!  She was right, I just went out and bought the cheapest generic no-name PB I could find, all hydrogenated oil and sugar.  I also have peanuts at work.  She told me to throw my giant-ass cheap bag of peanuts as well, haha.

Why so much hate for the peanut?  Mr Peanut is a pimp.

I don’t want to violate copyright, so I choose this highly derivative version.  We’re good, right Planters?

 

Leslie says: up yours, peanuts!

Leslie says: up yours, peanuts!

Anyways, she’s right, I gotta tighten up.  My daily macros are good, daily protein about 50%, carbs about 20%.  But I need more veggies and less garbage peanut butter.  I will look this week for some P28 peanut butter, will let you know how that goes.

 

So yeah!  And how was your day?  Any good workouts?

