My mind has felt strong lately.  It makes it a good time to push forward.

I woke up again Tuesday morning at 5 am, and started the process of psyching myself up for a trip to the gym.  Do a leg workout at 6, then a spin class at 7.  It is never easy.  I was scheduled to do squats this morning.  Standing at the bus stop at 5:30 am, I started to make excuses.  OK, so when I get there, I will do leg press instead, and then I can do squats on Saturday.  Just do leg press and quad extensions, do stuff you like, then do spin.  You’ve done enough then, don’t worry about it.

Then when you get on the bus and your tunes kick in on the ipod and you start to get excited.  Your body starts to remember the activity, and it wakes up.  I get to the mall, and walk to the gym.  Normally my mind supports my body, but on the quick walk to the gym, my body supports my mind.  I get excited to workout, and this momentum carries me forward, until by the time I get into the changeroom, all I can think about is doing what I had written down as the plan, and I can’t devote the effort to excuses any more.

Not that my squats are heavy, I am not fooling myself.  They aren’t even heavy for me.  But I still don’t have a lot of experience under my belt doing squats, much less doing them without a spot, much less doing 4 sets back to back with only 30 sec rest.  My experience with this routine so far is that with only 30 sec rest, what starts out easy on set 1 becomes REALLY hard by set 4.  so I don’t go heavy, and try and get low and bang them out quick, then go do extensions quick, then go bang out stiff-leg deadlifts quick and tight then go do leg curls then calf raises.  Don’t give my legs a restbreak to slow down and get tired before spin.

Before I know it it’s spin time.  Les shows up to do her morning fasted cardio.  I am glad for the company because the teacher this morning is my least favorite, I have had some bad experiences with her.  The spin is kind of a grim affair, I don’t think the teacher is connecting with the class, and I know I am not feeling it, 50 min or so of just climbs, seated climbs and standing climbs.  But I push through it and flush my tired legs out.  When I look to my left, I can see Leslie is struggling hard as well.  The fasted cardio seems to be hitting her hard this morning.  It’s funny, I feel more upbeat all the time even on the low carb diet, but in the middle of a grueling cardio session, I don’t have the fuel reserves to feel happy, I just feel grim and miserable.  But it’s still worth it.

Then I went to work, and had a full day of work.  Coworkers tell me I look tired.  After work I go look for P28 peanut butter, I am curious about it.  I have tried the bread, and enjoyed it.

https://www.p28foods.com/baked-goods/p28-high-protein-peanut-butter

 

Turns out P28 nut butter isn’t available in Canada yet!  Oh well.

I haven’t done shoulders yet, but my left shoulder has been sore all day.  So I skip shoulders today, the risk of overtraining is still high with that recovering joint.  I was thinking of doing cardio, but when I got home the last 3 days of weights and cardio got to me, and I fell into a deep sleep.  So no evening cardio for me.

But I still have cardio tomorrow first thing in the morning!  And I keep moving forward.

 

Legs:

(30 sec rest between all sets)

Squats:  135 x 15, 12, 12, 10

Leg Extensions:  180 x 12, 12, 12, 12

SLDL:  115 x 12, 12, 12

Seated Leg Curls:  180 x 15, 15, 15, 15

Standing Bodyweight Calf Raises:  85, 85, 85, 85

