Wednesday was my offday.  So I rested a lot.  I still went to the gym, did a spin class, burnt some calories, ate clean.

You know what’s funny, I haven’t thought about my cheat meal all week!!  I would get one cheat meal, I do it Friday night, and normally I am daydreaming about it all week long.  But this week, I am lying in bed Wednesday night, and I realize this is the first time I have even remembered I have a cheat meal!  This is also the first week where my last cheat meal was starch free…

My most recent cheat meal was like some pickles and cheese and some ice cream.  So it tasted awesome, naturally.  But normally my cheat meal involves a lot of bread products.  I had decided to cut starch out of all meals, even cheats, and what do you know?  My cravings have been almost nonexistent all this week!!  No bread, no rice, no potatoes, and I don’t even miss them.  I don’t even want them on Friday.  I find that curious 🙂

Thursday I get up and head to the gym, only to find out the hot water isn’t working!  Awesome!  I made plans to work out with some coworkers at lunch, so I decide to split my workout in two:  triceps and spin in the morning, chest at noon.

Morning Triceps:  (rest 30 sec between all sets)

dumbbell skullcrushers:  50 x 15, 15, 15, 15

seated one hand dumbbell extension:  20 x 12/12, 12/12, 12/12

straight bar pushdowns:  120 x 12, 12, 12

hanging knee raise:  8, 6

60 min Spin class

notes:  After triceps I rushed to Spin.  It was aight.

For the skulls, my left elbow was sore, so I experimented with the ROM, and lowered the DBs down and past my head, and didn’t straighten my arms all the way up at the top, and this actually felt much easier on my elbows!  I might stick with this for a while.

For the hanging knee raise, I hung off the chinup bar at a full hang (roman chairs are for wimps!) and brought my knees up to my chest.  I could have done more, but I was starting to swing too much.  That will be the big challenge for me with this exercise, and a good chunk of the value for my core, in learning how to not swing when I bring my knees up.  This ain’t crossfit, no kipping!!

 

At work, my coworkers wimped out, of course!  They said they were too busy to go work out.  So I said w/e, and made the choice to go after work on my own and just get the chest work done.

I felt weak all afternoon, shaky.  I needed more food, but I had stacked most of my calories in the morning hoping for a noon workout.  I ate a bit here and there, but on the walk to the gym after work, I felt like I needed a lot more food and maybe a nice cup of coffee.  I had neither.  All I had going for me was grit.  My shoulder also felt sore, but I was too stubborn not to at least give it a go.

 

Afternoon Chest:  (30 sec rest b/w sets)

incline db press:  100 x 15, 15, 15

flat db press:  100 x 12, 12, 12, 12

incline db fly:  60 x 12, 12, 12

pec deck:  105 x 12, 12, 12

cooldown:  25 min cardio on the elliptical

notes:  Grit works!  I muscled through my target weights pretty handily.  It probably helps that I split tri and chest up by 10 hours, but I still beat all my weights from last week.  Getting stronger!!  My shoulder pain also went away once I started pressing, so bonus!

 

I wanted to do 30 min cardio, but I realized at the 25 min mark how tired and hungry I was, so I called it and went home and had some chicken and veggies 🙂

And how about you?  Any good workouts today?  I’d love to hear all about them!

 

