Legs and Shoulders day is the biggest day.  It takes the longest, super grueling.  Usually legs can fill a workout just fine all on their own, but I like quarantining shoulders off from the other days so I can keep them under observation.  But when it’s legs and shoulders day, it’s like a meal and a half.

I rested up on Saturday and headed out Sunday morning to get some iron action.  I did 18 working sets of legs (7 single leg type presses, 7 sets of pulls, 4 sets of calves), and THEN headed off to do a Spin class to finish my legs off, THEN went to go do shoulders (10 sets, minus the rear delt flys I did Friday), THEN some abs to finish me off.  Killer! 2 hours and 15 min of work!

Legs & Shoulders: (30 sec rest b/w sets, unless otherwise noted)

single leg presses: (back and forth leg to leg, no rest)  270 x 15/15, 15/15, 15/15, 15/15

lunges w dumbbells:  90 lbs x 8/8, 8/8, 8/8

stiff leg DL:  125 x 12, 12, 12

seated leg curls:  210 x 15, 15, 15, 13

standing bodyweight calf raises:  85, 85, 85, 85

SPIN – 60 min

machine shoulder press:  100 x 15, 15, 10, 9

machine lat raise:  60 x 12, 12, 12

cable upright row:  90 x 12, 100 x 12, 110 x 12

hanging knee raises:  8, 7, 5

notes:  ahhh I hate lunges.  seated leg curls felt hard!  possibly because single leg presses, lunges and the SLDL already hit my hams, hahaha.

Finishing the legs off with Spin seemed like a good idea at the time.  It was a tough class!  I wanted to stop, vomit and run away about 15 min in to the class, lol.  Even more dire:  I wasn’t sure which of those 3 I wanted to do first… But after about 40 min the pain went away and it felt REALLY GOOD.  It turned out to be an awesome class.

Shoulders were good.  My front delts didn’t feel any pain, but were sort of tired.  I didn’t crush that weight.  I think the reason is I am gunshy about getting aggressive during shoulder work, I don’t get intense because I am always observing how it feels.  The sprain still has me a little timid, one year later.  My form last week on the lat raises with db’s was crap, so this week I used a machine to help with my form.  It worked well!

Traps were strong though.  Ab work was good, I could have done more but my grip was burning on those hangs!  I had to blow on my palms in between sets, friction burns from the rubber grips.  I need to either get gloves, or develop some sweet calluses!  Protect my palms!

And how about you?  Any good workouts today?

