Monday morning the alarm slapped me hard in the face.  5 am??  ugh

I headed to the gym and spin spin spin.  My right knee felt sore at the start of the ride, so I tested it out by gradually ramping up the resistance at my own pace.  The first song or two I wasn’t going as hard as everyone else, but by Song 4 or 5 I was going slightly harder than everyone else.  I was lagging behind the beat, but I didn’t care, I needed to observe my knee.  It paid off, as the resistance got heavier and heavier, my knee warmed up and felt fine.  It made for a damn hard class though!

Then I went to work.  I think I might have stacked too many calories early in the day – as I sit here typing this I am hungry… but out of daily calories, haha.  I keep tweaking the meals, more here less here, seeing what works best for me in order to keep the gym activity going.  It’s also been officially two weeks without ANY starch, and I feel great!  My mood is up, I feel light on my feet, and my energy stays solid throughout even a 2 hour gym session.

After work, I tried out a new masseur.  I like to get a good deep tissue massage once a month, I need the therapy to help me recuperate from the activity I subject myself to.  The young man I visited today has only been in Canada a few years (from Hong Kong), and he practices acupressure.

It hurt!  He worked on my calves for 30 min, and my left shoulder (the sprained one) for 15 min.  This left me enough time to make my training session.  He found a lot of crunchiness in my left upper back, which I already am well familiar with – I can’t roll my shoulders back without a little crunchy feeling.  So clearly those tendons need work.  He also thought there was a lot of blockage and swelling in my calves, so he said the acupressure should bring them down in size a bit.

Then it was time for Chest & Triceps with Leslie!

C & T: (30 sec rest between all sets)

But first, check out Leslie’s fresh new kicks!

fresh!

fresh!

incline smith machine press:  70 + bar x 15; 90 + bar x 15, 15

IMG_2078

flat smith machine press:  90 + bar x 12, 12, 12, 12

IMG_2079

flat DB fly:  70 x 12, 12, 12

IMG_2081

cable crossover:  80 x 12; 100 x 12; 120 x 12

IMG_2084

reverse grip pushdowns:  80 x 15, 15; 90 x 15, 15

IMG_2087

close grip DB press:  100 x 12, 6; 80 x 12, 10

seated 2 hand db extension:  55 x 12, 12, 12

IMG_2088

straight bar pushdowns:  120 x 10; 100 x 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10

IMG_2093

hanging knee raise:  10, 6, 4, 6, 4

notes:  the workout ran short, so we threw in the extra pushdowns in before the ab work to make the time go by 🙂

I don’t know how much the bar on the Smith Machine weighs.  Damn sure not 45 pounds, so who knows.  Flyes went well, I am happy with how those feel, ditto with crossovers.

As for the reverse grip pushdowns, those were awkward with the loose handles, I couldn’t keep my palms up.  Next time with that setup I will just use one hand and focus on keeping my palms to the ceiling.

When it was time for the close grip press, I was just exhausted, my shoulder was done.  I did less work than last week, don’t know what to tell you, oh well.

And how about you?  Any good workouts today?

fresh!

fresh!

