Everything about Sunday was pretty good.  After a lacklustre Saturday, I needed a better workout.  So Saturday night I stayed up late prepping a big pot of chili in my new crockpot, let it slowcook all night.

Sunday I slept in til 7 am… woohoo! living in sin! 7 am!  I also woke up to the smell of chili… which isn’t as good as waking up to the smell of bacon, but still not bad.  Chili turned out great!  Not too complicated:  I browned the ground beef and quickly browned some onions, garlic, green pepper, mushrooms, jalepenos.  Threw it all in the pot, added beef broth, black beans, canned diced tomatoes, chipotle powder, oregano, turmeric, black pepper.  Made about 6 servings.  I bagged it up in Tupperware to spread throughout the week.  No big whoop.  Bonus of cooking all night:  you get to try a bowl of chili for breakfast!

Headed to the gym, had time before Spin (about 40 min) so I did some Back work.

Back:  (30 sec rest b/w all sets)

assisted pull-ups:  widegrip x 10, 7; underhand grip x 10; hammergrip x 7

widegrip seated rows:  180 x 12, 12, 12

underhand grip pulldowns:  150 x 15, 15, 15, 15

hyperextensions w a 45 lb plate:  12, 12, 12

 

 

Then it was time for Spin!  Andrea was teaching, reminded me why I like Spin, well-balanced and left me room to go for it and make it the workout I wanted.  It WAS a little odd when 5 min into a class a woman runs in and grabs the bike right next to me, then picks it up and moves it CLOSER to me!  Now she and I are spinning about 4 inches away from each other, me all sweaty and trying not to jab her with my elbow.  Oh well, jokes on you babe, I had chili for breakfast!!

 

After Spin, time for biceps.

Biceps:  (30 sec rest b/w sets)

standing curls w EZ bar:  75 x 12, 7, 6

concentration curls (no rest, back and forth arm to arm):  20 x 15/15, 15/15, 15/15, 15/15

 

notes:  The Back workout felt great!  I varied up the grip during the pull-ups in order to hit my biceps differently and hit my back differently.  That’s one great thing about weightlifting – infinite variations.  It worked too, my back felt nice and warmed up for the rows, and those felt strong.  After the rows my back felt pumped, and the pulldowns felt real strong as well.

Spin kind of tired me out, so I had lost some of that pump by the time I did biceps.  My intensity was not quite there for the standing curls, I needed the aggression to carry it through.  So I kept the weight light on the concentration curls and just kept pumping the weight over and over, trying to wake the muscles back up.  Those actually felt really good, I felt tempted to do another biceps exercise over and above my plan!  In retrospect I should have added in a good finisher, but instead I just stuck to the plan and showered and went home.

 

But overall a great workout!  What about you?  Any good workouts?

