Monday.  And Leg Day.  With this variable schedule, it was bound to happen.  Every once in a while the dice come up snake eyes, and you just gotta deal with it.

By Monday, I mean that waking up at 5 am hurt hard.  I went to the gym for some 6 am spin class with Andrea.  That’s ok, it was Monday morning for Andrea too, she tripped over her own words about 8 or 9 times during the class.  It’s all good, spin instructors are people too 🙂  I found myself a spot in the back row, which was a mistake, as these 2 dudes in their mid 40s sat in front of me, who look like they went shopping for gym clothes together and did I mention they look totally alike?  Not all their fault, darn white people, so hard to tell them apart!

Their total brothers from different mothers vibe aside, sitting behind them was rough, as they had some horrible gas!  It was like a bike ride through Chernobyl!  I’m real glad you had a giant broccoli omelet for breakfast dude, but every time you stand out of your bike seat, you immerse me in your hot farts.  I think Andrea noticed that my concentration was off, I wasn’t keeping my core tight and speeding up my feet, more like I was twisting from side to side while exhaling violently through my nostrils.

Otherwise, it was alright.  My right knee, which has been semi-regularly stiff, has caused some related pains:  now my right achilles tendon is stiff.  I think its throwing my mechanics off.  Maybe the acupressure dude can work on that (I renewed my sessions with him, 10 sessions of blistering pain)

 

After spin I headed to work.  And saved up my energy for a session with Leslie.

 

Showed up, ready to hit it!

Legs and Shoulders:  (30 sec rest b/w all sets)

45 degree Leg Press:  410 + sled x 15, 15, 15, 15

8 plates, 2 quarter plates

8 plates, 2 quarter plates

Lunges:  holding 2 x 45 lb kettlebells:  10, 10, 10 (ten each leg)

IMG_2105

Stiff Legged Deadlift:  135 x 12, 12; 155 x 12

IMG_2109

Prone Leg Curls:  75 x 15, 15, 15, 15

obligatory butt shot!

obligatory butt shot!

smith machine military press:  50 + bar x 15; 70 + bar x 15, 15, 15

IMG_2112

cable lat raise:  20 x 12/12; 30 x 12/12, 12/12

ugh, close your mouth, idiot

ugh, close your mouth, idiot

reverse cable fly:  40 x 12; 60 x 12, 12

IMG_2118

hanging knee raises:  10, 13

standing bodyweight calf raises:  90, 90, 90, 90

 

notes:  crap! I realized I forgot to do trap work.  I was going to do upright rows…. grrr… this is a tough workout to pack into an hour.  As it is, the knee raises and calf raises I did on my own, after my session with Les had ended.

The SLDL’s were too easy, so Les added weight on the last set.  Good! Form getting better!

As for the leg curls, I was only able to get through all reps with a little helping pull from the trainer.  Looks like 75 pounds for 4 sets of 15 with reduced rest is going to be a major hill for me to conquer.  Been stuck at 75 forever!

Using the smith machine for the shoulder presses actually worked really well.  Need I mention how great it feels not to have to sling those GD dumbbells off the floor and onto my shoulders???  I love you smith machine.

 

And that was my day!  How about you?  Any good workouts??

 

Oh yeah, let’s close this out with a quick shout-out to my trainer Leslie, just weeks away from her figure competition!  In her honour, I attempted to do a pose-off.

IMG_2120

 

Eat your heart out.

