Woke up this morning to find bruises all over my left arm, thanks to the acupressure dude, lol!

left arm

left arm

 

As you can see in the picture (though upside down), there is a large bruise on the outside of my left bicep.  And it’s not the only one.  Thanks acupressure dude!  Now the whole world knows I belong to you, haha!

Woke up a touch late, rushed to the gym.  The plan was to do shoulders, then 7 am spin, then go to work, then slip away at lunch to do a leg workout.  Well, it didn’t go exactly as planned.

First things first, morning shoulders

shoulders (30 sec rest b/w sets)

smith machine military presses:  70 lbs + bar x 15, 15, 15, 15

lat raise machine:  70 x 12, 12, 12

reverse cable fly:  77 x 12, 12, 12

rope face pulls:  72 x 12, 12, 12

cable upright rows:  110 x 12, 12, 12

 

notes:  I realized that time had slipped away from me and I had missed the start of the spin class!  woops!  So I did some cardio on the elliptical instead:  30 min of 55% bw resistance, incline 9.

Everything felt pretty good this morning, so I decided to add in some face pulls, and get some extra work in on my rotator cuff.  The weights look so weird on those flys and face pulls because the plates were in kilograms, and I am converting back to pounds for y’all.

Only thing about the upright rows is I felt the tendonitis in my left forearm flare a bit when I set the weight down at the end of the set.  Ugh, so weird.  But everything felt good, ready to go heavier across the board.

 

When I was at work, first day back after the long weekend, I soon realized there would be no lunchtime workout.  Everything was just TOO hectic.  So I had no choice but to put my legs workout right after work, aka the busiest time of day at the busy-ass Goodlife gym.  But there I was.  Time for legs at 5:30 pm!

 

Legs (30 sec rest b/w sets)

45 degree leg press:  (plus whatever the sled weighs)  90 x 10; 180 x 10; 270 x 10; 360 x 10; 450 x 15, 15, 15, 15

stationary lunges:  carrying 45 lb dumbbells x 12, 12, 12 (each leg)

seated leg curls:  150 x 15, 15; 165 x 15; 180 x 15, 15, 15, 15

standing bodyweight calf raises:  90, 90, 90 90

prone leg raises:  20, 20, 20

 

notes:  Say what I will about the masseuse abuse, everything he squeezed to death was performing better the next day!  My calves felt loose and ready for anything!  After legs, I did more cardio:  30 min, 55%, incline 9.

I saw the squat racks were super busy.  There was a waiting line.  But nobody was messing with the 45 degree leg press.  So I camped out there, as you can see I did 4 warm-up sets before the 4 working sets, which worked out really well actually.

The gym was SO busy, there was no room to do walking lunges without tripping over people, and I am not that coordinated at walking lunges, I can’t handle the hecticness.  So I just did them stationary, raising up and down on the same leg for each set.

As for stiff-legged deadlifts, no racks or bars were free.  I saw the Smith machine was free, so I tried to do SLDL’s on them.  It DID NOT WORK, I ended up just feeling it in my lower back because I couldn’t keep the bar close to me as I bent over (it was stuck on a track after all).  So after 2 awkward-feeling sets, I gave up.  Noone was messing with the seated leg curl machines, so I did like 7 sets on that instead.  Those felt pretty good.

Given the pain in my forearm, I decided against hanging knee raises, and just did ab work on the ground instead.  Worked fine.

 

Given the evening workout, no time for yoga, sorry!  But I did cardio twice today, AND weights twice today, so it’s all good.  Got the work in.

 

How about you?  Any good workouts today?

