Woke up pretty tired Thursday morning.  I took some pre-workout, had some caffeine and had some NO3.  In retrospect, I pushed it a little too far.

Made it to the gym at 6 am, ready to do some chest and triceps as time permitted, then 7 am spin.

Chest & Triceps:  (30 sec rest b/w sets)

warm-ups w/ cable crossovers

flat db fly:  80 x 12, 12, 12

cable crossover 120 x 12, 12, 12

incline bb press (1/2 ROM):  115 x 15, 15, 15

flat bb press:  135 x 12, 12, 12, 7

reverse grip pushdowns: (no rest, back and forth arm to arm)  50 x 15/15, 11/15, 12/13, 10/13

closegrip db press:  100 x 12, 12, 10

seated two hand db extension:  65 x 12, 12, 8

cardio:  30 min elliptical 55% resistance, incline 9, light pace

 

notes:  The flys went ok, but felt a little awkward, I might not have fully warmed up yet.  This was my first time trying out 1/2 ROM inclines.  I guess it was ok, certainly easier on my shoulder, but not sure if was worth it in the end.  With the flat presses, I was SO close to failing on the third set, I actually failed on the last rep and had to force it for what seemed like forever to get it back up and rack it.  I could see I was wearing down, so I stopped and pulled a little short on the 4th set before it felt like I was on the edge of failing.  No sense risking it when I didn’t have a spot.

It was about then that my stomach became kind of upset.  I think I took too much stuff this morning, and now it was turmoil in my gut.  It kind of distracted me during the tricep work.

For the pushdowns, I tried standing sideways and holding onto the machine with the freehand, even leaning away a little.  I think that worked MUCH better, felt better formwise.  It still feels hard on my left shoulder, but not crazy bad.

I was SO close to getting through that third set of the closegrip presses, it was very frustrating.

In the end, I decided my stomach was feeling pretty rough, so I did not go to Spin, instead I just did cardio on my own, and kept a light pace.

 

And that was my workout!  How about you?  Any good workouts today?

