Friday morning I got up and went to Spin for 6 am.  Spin felt hard this time, man!  The pedals felt heavy, I was sweating, it was just grueling the whole time.  But I got through it.

It was a kind of different day at work.  I was working at a different office today, but wasn’t expected until a little later in the morning, so I had all this free time… I wanted to do a bunch of weights and go crazy!  I had the time and I had the inclination.

BUT, and a big but at that.  I was due to do back and biceps with Leslie later.  But my big butt wanted some weights!  I compromised, do lots of biceps in the morning, and just do back work later with my trainer.  But I only had 7 sets of biceps planned when it was bookended with back… hmmm, 7 sets seems hardly enough, let’s see how much bicep work I can do before I run out of time or inclination!!  (turns out the answer is 15 sets)

 

Bicep Blitz:

across the body hammer curls (1 min rest) – 3 warmup sets; 70 lb DBs x 5, 5, 5, 5

standing dumbbell curls (30 sec rest) – 40 lb DBs x 12, 12, 9

incline curls (30 sec) – 30 lb DBs  x 7, 7

bicep curl machine (30 sec) – 70 x 15, 15, 15, 15

cable hammer curls w/ rope, dropsets:  set # 1 – 70 x 22, 50 x 12, 30 x 10; set # 2 – 90 x 12, 70 x 7, 50 x 9, 30 x 8

 

notes:  That is normally more volume than I do for my biceps, especially since I hit them twice a week, but what can I say?  I just WANTED to.  Sometimes overtraining is ok, listen to your body and go for it if you feel so inclined.  Just don’t do it all the time.  This all took me about 45 minutes, I was pretty much all business.

I bet part of that burning desire to give the biceps a good workout was my frustration about always having to pull back due to the tendonitis in my left forearm.  So I deliberately chose a number of exercises that I thought wouldn’t bring on the burning.  The standing curls were the riskiest, and those didn’t cause a flare-up, so I had this window of opportunity to work my arms lots before the tendonitis came back, and I took it!

As you can see, I started out with heavier weights and low reps and longer rests to wake the biceps up and maybe recruit as many fibres as I could.  Then the standing and incline curls were just me putting in work, over and over.  I stopped the standing curls when I felt like I was losing to much form, and so switched to incline curls, where it is harder to swing with your body and cheat.

Then the machine curls were lower weight and higher reps, just pump them out.  The first few sets I also took an extra second or two at the peak of the movement to really squeeze and contract the muscle, but by the last few sets I was tired and I just wanted to pump reps out.  Then the hammer curls with the rope were the finisher, do as many as I can, and keep dropsetting myself all the way down to the ground, just exhaust the muscles.

I bet I am sure gonna feel it tomorrow!

Later on that day, Les had to cancel because she was sick!  BOOO.  Well, she was still willing to come in and train, but frankly, I did not want to catch her bug.  SO she promised to be better by tomorrow, and we moved our session to then.

This means I could have actually done both back and biceps in the morning, but instead I got to experiment with the biceps a little, which was pretty fun!

 

And how about you?  Any good workouts today?

 

