I had an appt with the trainer on Saturday morning.  She was expecting to do legs, little did she know…

We were doing Back instead!

I showed up a little early, so I did 30 minute of cardio before the weightz.

Back (30 sec rest b/w sets, unless we had cool shit to talk about)

assisted pullups:  widegrip x 15, 15; underhand x 15; hammergrip x 15

see the bruise still?

see the bruise still?

widegrip pulldowns:  180 x 15; 200 x 15; 220 x 15; 240 x 15

IMG_2175

one-hand db rows:  65 x 12/12, 12/12, 12/12

IMG_2181

closegrip rows 100 set:  210 x 15, 30, 25, 20, 10  (rest between sets equals 100 seconds minus reps done so far)

IMG_2186

bent over BB row:  underhand 155 x 12, 6; overhand (Yates) 135 x 11, 9

IMG_2187

hyperextensions:  45 lb plate x 12, 12, 12

surprise butt shot!

surprise butt shot!

notes:  We had a full hour for back, no biceps, so we decided to do as much as I could before we ran out of time, energy or exercises.

In the end, we went hard for 45 minutes, then I requested 15 min of back-focused yoga stretches (since Leslie is a licensed yoga instructor, after all).  I figured I put in all that work, may as well reward my spine and back muscles with lots of fresh blood.  We did forward folds, back bends, side bends, half-kneeling spinal twists, prone spinal twists, camel pose, cat/cows, etc.  Good stuff!

All that yoga sure relaxed me!

surprise bearskin rug shot!

surprise bearskin rug shot!

Over 20 working sets, and I was worn out!

The pullups felt really good.  The first movement always sets the tone for the rest of the workout, so I tried hard, and did pretty well, better than I have done in the past for sure.  When I transitioned to the widegrip pulldowns, however, I was tired as heck!  I pushed on and squeezed through the ascending pyramid of reps, made a good show of it.  I was deadset on making this an intense hour of back work!

The rows felt good, although as I got tired, the form got a little sloppy.  Not a lot, nothing I couldn’t correct, but a little.  So while the form recovered, we improvised and threw in a bit of a “pump” set, 100 reps of closegrip rows, just pump lots of blood in and keep the back working.  That 100 set went really well!  I think my trainer was pleased 🙂

Putting a compound lift like the bent over bb rows at the end was risky, and we soon realized why:  my back was tired and my grip was toast.  By the second set of underhand, I couldn’t hold onto the bar any more, so we lightened the weight a bit, and I switched to overhand so I could use my hands like hooks.  I still was running out of steam though.

So we finished off with more low back work, which I will tell you… I enjoy those hyperextensions a lot more than I used to!  Low back work right at the end is so important for heavy dudes like me because our low back needs the conditioning so badly.

And that was that!  How about you?  Any good workouts today?

