Sunday morning I headed down to the gym for a 9 am spin, met up with a few friends, and settled in for the ride.  Now, as I was saying the other day, the first movement, the first set, the first song can set the pace for the whole workout.

First song of the spin class was this:

 

I think Andrea the instructor was reliving RPM Release #43 (back from 2009), since the songs followed that general pattern.

So the song chorus has you listening to “I just can’t stop I just can’t stop” over and over, and I decide to make that the mantra for my day at the gym, just don’t stop!  I had set the pace for my workout!

I pushed fairly hard through that ride, got a good sweat going, felt energized and ready for more.  I had the choice of a second spin class in a row or go do some weights.  I decided that I had not done a leg workout in a while, and headed to the weight pit to see what sort of trouble I could get into.

 

DTP inspired Leg Workout:

45 degree Leg Press (60-90 seconds between each set):  2 plates x 50 reps; 4 plates x 40; 6 plates x 30; 8 plates x 20; 10 plates x 10; 12 plates x 10; 14 plates x 10; 16 plates x 10

superset quad extensions and seated leg curls (no rest, back and forth):  150 x 20/20, 20/20, 20/20, 15/20, 14/20

notes:  The workout was roughly based on Kris Gethin’s 12 week trainer from Bodybuilding.com.  I haven’t done the program, so I don’t know what he means by “DTP”, but near the end of the program, he does that style workout, except he pyramids up on the leg press, and then pyramids back down.  Instead, I kept it at 10 reps and kept adding on plates.  Don’t stop, don’t stop!!  In the end I was pressing 720 plus whatever the sled weighs.  I am going to assume about 90 lbs, so let’s say 810 pounds total.  That felt comfortable, so I left it at that and decided to do some lightweight high rep stuff.

I was feeling intense still when it was time to superset the extensions and curls.  The weight wasn’t high, but I kept going back and forth, and it got brutal!  Thanks to the leg press, the quads wore out before the hammies.  That pretty well finished me off.

 

After the workout, I went out for lunch.  What did I have?  Crudites, olives, and a steak salad.  Delicious!

blue cheese dip

blue cheese dip

not quite mid-rare... sigh

mid-rare-ish, yum!

 

And that was my day!  How about you?  Any good workouts?

