Sunday night I was up late watching Mad Men and Game of Thrones, so I slept in Monday morning and missed Spin.  Whoops!

All day Monday at work I was looking forward to heading to the gym to work out.  You get that way, you build up all this positive momentum, and when you finally get to the weight room, it is pure joy.  It is the chemical payoff you have trained yourself to anticipate, you are an iron addict now, accept it.

As I have acclimated to the 6 day, twice a week split, the low carbs and the morning cardio, a curious change happened – I have gotten hungrier.  The burning need I used to have to sustain myself with additives and preservatives has been slowly conquered by a need to push and pull against resistance, a hunger.

I am much more hungry now than I was months ago.  It is what makes me want to keep moving forward.  I think my trainer can start to see it.  Each workout session I grunt my way through intense sets with less self-consciousness, I smile more when I catch my breath, and if the next set didn’t start asap I am on the verge of hopping up and down.

If this is what I am meant to be like if I follow this course, then I accept the new me whole-heartedly.

 

So when I got to the studio, it was chest & triceps day!  Hooray!

warmup:  15 min on the elliptical

chest & tri (30 sec b/w sets)

incline fly:  70 x 12, 12, 12

IMG_2196

cable crossovers:  160 x 12, 12, 12

IMG_2199

incline db press:  110 x 15, 15, 15

IMG_2201

flat db press:  120 x 12, 12, 12, 12

IMG_2202

skullcrushers:  70 x 15, 15, 15, 12

IMG_2206

seated one hand db extension:  20 x 12/12, 8/11, 4/0; 15 x 6/12 (no rest, back and forth)

rope pushdown:  80 x 12; 90 x 12, 12; 50 over and over and over

IMG_2208

hanging knee raise:  11, 15

IMG_2212

 

notes:  those crossovers were heavy!  HAF.  I was effectively pre-exhausted, and those incline and flat presses hit me like a truck.  We dropped the bench deeper than 45 degrees, I wanted to make the load easier on my shoulder, and get as much of the upper pec as I could for the inclines.  This, however, had the side effect of tiring my chest out even more for the flat presses, so I needed some forced reps from Leslie to get through the flat sets.

The brutality continued as we upped my regular skullcrusher weight by 16.67%!!  dayum.  Yeah, those skulls were hard damn work.  HAF.  I felt it in the back of my arms quite nicely, though.  Lots of forced reps on those mofos.

So when it was time for the seated extensions, I was weak as a kitten.  Kind of pitiful, but that’s what happens when you stack the movements and the rests like that.  I had to drop down to the 15s to get through the sets.  Let’s just say the tricep was overloaded.  Mission accomplished.

When we did the rope pushdowns, I had some fire coming back, so after the 3 sets I did a pump set that pretty much went on until the end of time.  No joke, Leslie lost count.  I would go for a long-ass time, wait a few seconds, then do a bunch of quarter reps, wait a few then do a bunch of full reps, wait a few then bang out a bunch rapid fire (causing the knobs at the end of the rope to bang into my kneecaps over and over again).  Good finisher, and Leslie was busting a gut.

We had a few minutes left, so I did some abs.

 

Awesome workout!  I’m just getting meaner and meaner and hungrier each day, feeling real good too!  How about you?  Any good workouts today?

