Whoops! Forgot to post yesterday!  I went out to see Evil Dead, and lost track of time.

Tuesday:

I showed up to the gym at 6 am, to do some back and biceps, then spin.  In the end, I did back, then spin, then biceps.

Back, Spin, Biceps:  (30 sec rest b/w sets)

assisted pull-ups:  widegrip x 10, 10; underhand grip x 10; hammergrip x 10

widegrip machine rows:  195 x 12, 12, 12

narrowgrip pulldowns:  165 x 15, 15, 12, 10

machine hyperextensions:  270 x 12, 12, 12

Spin 1 hour

cable curls:  100 x 12, 12, 12

concentration curls:  25 x 15/15, 15/15, 15/15, 12/13 (back and forth arm to arm, no rest)

notes:  pullups felt pretty good for a warmup!  Losing weight definitely helps me do more reps.  I was worn out by the time I got to pulldowns, but finished pretty strong.

Spin class was good, Courtney teaches Tuesdays now.  My back was tired, so I was sad to find out that this ride had a lot of standing climbs, like 2 min long standing climbs.  Oh well.  We also had some fast flat races, I was dripping sweat by the third track.

I headed back to the weight pit to do biceps.  Kind of funny, when I went to do concentration curls, I grabbed the 25 pound dumbbells, and this young guy looks at me and sort of smirks.  Then I went back and forth, kept going, dozens of reps.  Meanwhile he had done about 4 reps, rested 2 minutes, then did 4 more reps.  That’s fine for strength, but not everyone trains that way every time.  He had also stopped smirking and was now minding his own business, so I guessed he realized this was a pump set for me.  Kiss my ass hater, take my 25s and do 60 reps with each arm, then tell me if I’m working hard.

Weight doesn’t matter.  The weight you use is only a tool for pointing towards the truth, it isn’t the truth, you savvy?  I can use my finger to point at the moon, but you don’t need my finger to see the moon, and my finger is NOT the moon.  Weight is just a tool, you also have reps, rest, time under tension, cadence, pre-exhaust, forced reps, drop sets, supersets, it just goes on and on.  Back to school with you, fool.

Oh, by the way, they finally started carrying P28 peanut butter spreads in Canada!  YAY!

BHcFiZ3CUAEHD8I

P28 is known for making protein-enriched bread (whey protein, in case you are vegan), and they recently expanded into making protein-enriched peanut butter.  All the flavours are in the picture:  PB, almond, banana raisin, white chocolate, and “signature” (peanuts, cranberries, flax, sunflower seeds).  They ONLY JUST started shipping into Canada, and I ordered a bunch for me and a bunch for Leslie.  100% natural, not full of sugar and hydrogenated oils, plus a bunch of protein per serving.  For a low carb, high fat high protein dieter like myself, this stuff is a major guiltfree treat!  A lot of calories, I can only have a teaspoon or two at a time, but the flavour is AWESOME.  You don’t need giant scoops of peanut butter when it tastes this good.

Seriously, it tastes good!  I am honest, I am only so-so on the taste of their bread, it tastes a little weird, too spongy.  But this stuff is honest-to-goodness DESSERT.  The white chocolate doesn’t even have sugar in it, just cocoa and milk powder and stuff, and it tastes crazy good!  Look it up!  It ain’t cheap, but it’s not made for binging.

Wednesday:

Wednesday I was in an odd mood.  I can’t explain it, I just felt… contrarian.  I put on a black shirt with blue and pink unicorns on it, and headed down to the gym first thing in the morning to do 6 am spin then some shoulders.  Yup, that was my shirt choice.  Here I am wearing a goofy shirt, and feeling totally antisocial, not wanting people to crowd me, wanting space.  Just being odd.

Spin was bleh.  I won’t name the teacher, but it isn’t really my style.  Although technically competent, this teacher was as dull as paint drying.  This teacher is always that way, this is just their style, and it is a big motivation drain on me.  It’s easier when I have friends there, but I was alone in that class.  And lots of awesome mainstream music was playing, but I wasn’t digging it.  I kind of phoned it in that class, I didn’t try too hard, really just a light ride.  And then they played GnR Paradise City.  And I got sad, because that is my jam to ride like crazy to.  And then the teacher screwed up the end!  wtf.  When there is the extended guitar solo at the end, you are supposed to race hard forever and ever until you collapse.  This teacher made us stretch out our shoulders for the first 1/3.  what the hell dude!  Don’t spoil the song.

Just a sad fat man wearing a unicorn shirt and pedalling like a wussy.

And then shoulder time!  I had a new exercise I wanted to try.

Shoulders:  (30 sec rest b/w sets)

half-kneeling landmine shoulder presses:  25 lb plate x 15/15, 15/15, 15/15, 15/15 (back and forth, no rest)

cable lat raise:  30 x 12/12, 10/12, 12/12 (back and forth, no rest)

reverse pec deck:  90 x 12; 75 x 12, 12

DB shrugs:  160 x 15, 15, 15, 15

notes:  those landmine presses work awesome!  The ROM feels good on my shoulder, it isn’t awkward to get the weight up.  I did it half-kneeling so I could get some stabilizer work in.  When I was doing them, there was this dude staring at me.  I figured he was enjoying my AWESOME unicorn shirt, so I walked over to him and asked if he needed my Olympic bar for something.  He said he was intrigued by my exercise.  I explained I had sprained my shoulder in the past, and he got excited, since he was rehabbing his shoulder too!  I gave him some pointers, and he went his merry way.  Yay!  I helped someone!!

So yeah, a big heavyset dude grunting out the weights, wearing a shirt with pink unicorns on it.  To test out my coolness, I spoke to 2 women in the gym, both of whom I already know by name, they know my name, etc.  One rolled her eyes at my shirt, the other got defensive and didn’t want to talk to me.  So… I will judge my coolness factor AT ABOUT A 9.

haha!  I just find that stuff funny, I am weird sometimes.

I don’t like the reverse pec deck, but the cables were busy, so oh well.

I was going to do legs at lunch, but work was CRAZY.  Then I am at home now typing this monster post, then cooking chili!  I guess I will do legs tomorrow.  And that is my week so far!  How about you?  Any good workouts?

