Sorry for not posting yesterday!  The time at the gym went real late, so when I got home I just ate then went to bed.

Monday evening I went to the gym for a session with Leslie – legs and shoulders.  Since it is such a busy workout, we stagger the leg and shoulder sets back to back, mixing the exercises together.

Legs and Shoulders workout from Hell: (minimum rest b/w sets, back and forth legs to shoulders)

Leg Press warm-up: 270 x 20, 360 x 10, 450 x 10, 540 x 10

Leg Press & half-kneeling Landmine Shoulder Press:  720 x 15, 15, 15, 15; 35 x 15/15, 15/15, 12/12, 12/12

IMG_2240

landmine shoulder press

landmine shoulder press

Walking Kettlebell Lunges & Cable Lat Raise:  90 x 11, 11, 11; 30 x 12/12, 12/12, 12/12

IMG_2243

reppin the POG

reppin the POG

Stiff-Leg Deadlift & Reverse Cable Fly:  165 x 12, 12, 12; 80 x 12, 60 x 12, 12

using wrist straps

using wrist straps

 

IMG_2255

prone leg curl & db shrugs:  85 x 15, 15, 15, 15; 170 x 15, 15, 15, 15

leg curls for the girls!

leg curls for the girls!

 

shoulders almost visible!

shoulders almost visible!

standing bodyweight calf raises:  95, 95, 95, 95

cardio:  45 minutes on elliptical

 

notes:  this workout was BRUTAL.  Chaining leg presses and the landmine presses… I don’t know if it was my legs being crushed into my stomach followed by the mild core work keeping the weight stable… but I wanted to puke by the third set.  That kicked my butt.  And then right after that were lunges!??!?  Why are you so cruel, Leslie??  (oh yeah, this workout was my idea)

The first 2 exercises kicked my butt, and the lunges kicked me while I was down.  I had to stop often and catch my breath.  And then I got mad because all this stopping was chewing up my time.  Lat raises went well enough, though.

I didn’t want to wear out my grip with the SLDL’s and have nothing left for the shrugs, so I wore straps for that movement.  Yet still, I was tired as heck and was swinging too much with the flys, so we dropped the weight down.

New higher weight for the leg curls, and YUP needed some help finishing those sets.  Shrugs were cake though.  Leslie even said she could make out my shoulder muscles through all the layers of fat!  Yessssss… a little definition.

We were out of time, so I did calf raises on my own, then did 45 min of cardio.

Then I went for a therapeutic massage with acupressure dude.  He said my shoulder seems more flexible, hooray!  Good, I need that badboy in peak form so I can recup it.

 

Tuesday I woke up a little late (late night, like I said), then went to a 7 am spin class, worked out the morning cardio.  A coworker (who I have now turned into a Scivation Xtend fan, and a pwo addict, muahahaha, he comes by and pays me a dollar per scoop to mooch off me), asked me to go work out at lunch!  Sure!  We headed to the office gym for some back and biceps.

Back & biceps (30 sec rest b/w sets)

widegrip pulldowns:  warmup, 180 x 15, 15, 11, 11

bent over BB row:  155 x 12, 12, 9

one hand db row:  65 x 12/12, 12/12, 12/12

spider curls:  20 x 15/15, 15/15, 15/15, 15/15

incline curl:  60 x 9; 50 x 7, 7

ez bar curl:  75 x 9, 5, 7

notes:  back went ok for a weird and different gym.  bb rows felt pretty good.  the gym was SO busy!  the weights were packed, the cables were packed, the leg presses and machines… totally empty.  haha “dudes”, so predictable.  Inspired by the CT Fletcher youtube vids, I did spider curls for the first time, I see lots of potential fun in my future 🙂  I made the coworker try them too, I think he was a fan as well.

My focus and mindset totally crapped out for the inclines and the straight curls, I don’t know what it is but I need to tighten up my headgame sometime soon, I keep having subpar bicep sets, even when the other stuff goes well.

For the ez bar curls, it was my first time doing them in a few weeks, and no forearm pain at least, thankfully.  To keep me from swinging, I stood against a wall, which I think helped me keep good form.  Probably the way I want to go in the future while I get stronger at these.

 

And that was the past few days!  How about you?  Any good workouts?

 

