Tuesday I made it to the gym for 6, then did some back work while I waited for 7 am spin.

Tuesday AM Back  (30 sec b/w sets)

assisted pullups:  widegrip x 15, 12; underhand x 12; hammergrip x 10

widegrip machine row:  225 x 12, 8, 8

narrow pulldowns:  180 x 15, 12, 10, 9

hyperextensions:  2×25 plates x 12, 10, 12

SPIN

notes:  my focus wasn’t really there this workout, and I had recently increased the weight on most of the exercises, so in the end I didn’t push it too intensely, I just got comfortable with the increases.  The pullups went well though, I was happy with those.

 

At lunch I slipped out of work to go do some biceps at the office gym.  It was totally empty!

Tuesday Noon Biceps  (30 sec rest b/w sets)

spider curls:  30 x 15/15, 15/15, 12/12, 10/10

incline curls:  30s x 12, 8, 4

EZ curl:  75 x 12, 12, 12

cable curl drop set:  105 x 12, 75 x 12, 60 x 12, 45 x 12

notes:  spider curls felt really good, but I just had no energy for the inclines.  This was disappointing, and in some way it got me worked up, and came at the EZ curls really aggressively, since no one else was there.  I nailed those sets!  I was quite happy with those sets, I went quick but stayed flat against the wall and didn’t cheat and/or swing.  I was feeling some tendonitis again in my left forearm, so I did cable curls for the drop sets instead of preacher curls.  Those felt light, will go heavier next time.

 

Wednesday morning I made it to the gym about 6:30 am… I just wasn’t motivated for spin.  So I did legs, then some cardio after.

Wednesday AM Legs  (30 sec rest)

warmup:  10 min on elliptical

45 degree leg press:  2 warmup sets with 540; 720 x 15, 15, 15, 15

stationary lunges:  90 lbs x 12/3***

stiff-legged deadlift:  185 x 12, 12, 12

leg extensions:  180 x 12, 12, 12, 12

seated leg curls:  180 x 15, 15, 15, 15

cardio:  elliptical at 65% resistance, incline 9, burnt about 660 Cal

notes:  The Leg Presses felt stiff, but good.  When I went to do lunges, on the first set with my right foot forward, my left ankle just gave out and rolled!  Luckily it wasn’t my weight-bearing foot!  That left ankle had been sore since Sunday, so I knew it wasn’t a fluke.  I cancelled lunges (screw you lunges!) and moved on to SLDL while I gathered my thoughts.  After SLDL, I decided to throw in some leg extensions, leave the weight off my ankle.  After those I did some leg curls.  Have to say, the hamstrings felt strong this workout!  They are really coming in nice, not sure if they look any different, but they are getting much stronger, something is clicking.

 

At lunch, I slipped out of work with a coworker to go to the office gym.  He did cardio, I did shoulders.

Wednesday Noon Shoulders (30 sec rest, you know the drill)

seated smith machine shoulder press:  2 warmup sets; 80 + bar x 15, 15, 12, 9+4

cable lat raises:  45 x 10/10, 8/8, 8/8

reverse cable fly:  90 x 12, 12, 11

db shrugs:  170 x 15, 15, 15, 15

notes:  this workout was super quick, made it easy to get back to work.  With the presses, on the last set I did 9, then paused a few sec, then busted out 4 more.  Some minor progress since last Friday, so its all good.  Lat Raises was a big jump in weight, so I was conservative with the reps while I let my shoulders get used to it.  For the shrugs, I tried to apply the advice Les had been drilling into me:  pull up and back, not just up.  Use your traps, not your neck.  So I did that, and they went pretty well.  Grungy ass 85 lb old school dumbbells were murder on my fresh calluses though!

 

And those were 2 days worth of workouts!  How about you?  Any good workouts?

