I slept in, yay Saturday!  I had to run some errands before the gym, so no time for Spin.  I brought my TRX kit with me, and met briefly with a trainer friend of mine; he took a look at it to see if it was working, and he gave me some good pointers.  Thanks Terry!

OK, hammer time!

Back & Biceps:  (30 sec rest b/w sets)

warm-up rows with TRX

widegrip pulldowns:  180 x 15, 15, 15, 15

t-bar row:  90 x 12, 12, 12

bent over one hand db row:  (no rest, back and forth hand to hand) 70 x 12/12, 12/12, 8/8

machine hyperextension:  285 x 12, 12, 12

spider curls:  (minimal rest, back and forth hand to hand) 30 x 15/15, 15/15, 15/15, 15/15

incline curls:  60 x 12, 10, 8

EZ bar curls:  75 x 3, 4 ***

closegrip cable curls:  120 x 12, 10, 8

widegrip curl machine DROPSET:  120 x 8, 100 x 6, 80 x 4+1 slow neg, 60 x 6 + 1 slow neg

elliptical – 30 min, 70% resistance, incline 9

notes:  again, my energy seemed to drop off fast.  The pulldowns and spiders were up first, and I could dig deep and grind those out, but the tank was depleted for every movement that followed.  Oh well.  I AM very happy that I had a breakthrough on the pulldowns, those were a long time coming.  Even though this man and woman were crowding me having a moronic conversation and semi-flirting with each other.  Scatter, useless creatures!!

The gym has a brand-new t-bar row machine, so I tried it out.  I couldn’t figure out how to adjust the pad, I don’t know if you even can adjust it, and I am tall, so it was a little too short for me.  I kept the weight light, and just got used to the machine.  The weight will go up asap.  A side effect of my whole chest hanging off the t-bar row pad while I did rows was that my low back got DAMN tired, and I just ran out of strength during the bent over db rows.  After those db rows I was pouring sweat and had a sore lower back, so for my hyperextensions, I just used the machine.  It’s easier.

Spider curls went great, I really dug deep.  I think I did slightly better on the inclines too, so that is good.  When I went to curl the EZ bar, I felt tendonitis flare up in my left forearm again… So I tried it twice, then gave up.  I went over to the cables and busted out a bunch at closegrip, then I went to the curl machine and widened my grip and did a drop set.  My biceps were smoked!  I could barely move the weight by the end, so on the last 2 drops I did a slow negative at the end, just closed my eyes and held it in place as long as I could.

Jumped on the elliptical and burned a bunch of calories.  I have the acupressure guy on Monday, I will offer up my forearms on the altar of massage pain, for sure.

 

And then I went down to the GNC because they were having a sale.  I was on the hunt for cheap protein.  I don’t know how much you guys pay for protein, but if I can find an isolate (since I am going low carb) for under a dollar a scoop, then I am happy.  I found some good deals, I ended up buying about 10 lbs of isolate for about 50 cents a scoop, so I am set for a while!!

I don’t just drink protein shakes, no no no!  I eat lots of steak, chicken, bacon, carrots, cauliflower, celery.  Last weekend I cooked up a batch of chili to last me through the week.  Check it out!

doesn't that look good?!

doesn’t that look good?!

 

I make it with  a bunch of lean ground beef, black beans, tomatoes, onions, mushrooms, green pepper, garlic, then slow cook it for hours.  Pretty simple, pretty healthy, lots of spices!

 

How about you?  Any good workouts lately?

