Woke up Friday morning, neck still stiff!  Damn!  I was tired of resting though, I headed to the gym for some 6 am Spin.

First time doing Spin in about a week!  they were rolling out the new tracklist for Les Mills RPM, I think it is Release 58.  My thoughts on it?  Meh.  Not my favorite.  Off the top, none of this music is really my type of music, but sometimes they throw a really catchy one at you and it gets stuck in your head.  Other times they grow on you over time, even if they’re annoying.  This release I found them generally bland and easy to tune out.  Here is the track list:

http://w3.lesmills.com/global/en/classes/rpm/music-tracklists/

The song I liked the most was the Track 5 Feel the Love.  I think the ride sequence worked really well with that track.  It just isn’t a pump me up track, so it isn’t enough to save the whole list.

But it being my first Spin in a while, I sweat buckets!  Burnt a buttload of calories.  Thanked my instructor, decided to go treat myself to breakfast.

Now, my diet.  I have played around with it for years, and am currently at an arrangement I feel very comfortable with.  I eat low carb, high protein, high fat, 3000 cal a day.  Carbs usually around 20% of my daily calories (mostly in the morning), protein 40 to 50%, fat makes up the difference.  This qualifies as really low carb.  In addition to that, I avoid starch – all bread, pasta, potatoes, rice, etc.  Brown bread, brown rice, don’t care, goodbye.

This was hard to adjust to, my energy was dragged through the gutter and my mood was poisonous.  But I got through it, and I have ample energy for workouts now.  But the transition was hellish.  But the other side has been worth it 🙂

One day a week (my “refeed” day), I up the carbs, maybe even indulge in a bit of starch.  But not a lot of starch, only what accompanies my other stuff by chance, I don’t go out looking for it.  Most of my carbs that day are made of extra fruit, and in the evening I treat myself to a really awesome dessert.  I don’t eat a pizza, too much bread.  I don’t have rice or potatoes, just a bit of random starch along with my meal, and a dessert at night.  I also don’t bother counting calories, but I don’t eat until I puke, that is just silly.

And Friday is refeed day!  So what does this look like?  Well, when I went out for breakfast I ordered this

IMG_2328

cup of black coffee, multiple glasses of water, big pile of fruit, ham and eggs and cheese wrapped in a crepe.  and an extra side of bacon 🙂

If it were a normal day, I wouldn’t have the crepe, wouldn’t have the cheese, fruit would be less than half of that.  And I would be adding up macros.

For lunch I had a hot dog from a street vendor, LOL.  So not exactly healthy!  It came in a bun, obviously.  I didn’t put any ketchup or mustard or stuff on it, that stuff is just empty calories and covers up the taste of the meat.  But I did put sauerkraut and onions and pickles and hot peppers on it!  yum.  so, not healthy per se, and that would prove to be my biggest bread indulgence of the day (or week!), but at least everything on it was recognizable food. (unless you hate sausages)

For dinner I had chicken and ribs, with coleslaw and steamed veg.  No potatoes or fries or heavy starch stuff, which would upset my stomach at this point.  Pretty much just protein and veggies.  But then I had a milkshake for dessert, hooray!

So that is what my cheat day eating generally looks like.  I up the carbs but don’t go starch crazy.

 

At lunch I was getting bored (had to work up a hunger to earn that hot dog!), so the coworker and I went to the office gym for a light chest workout!  Well, he did his thing, I did mine.  He refuses to try out my workout, ha!

Lunchtime Chest:  (30 sec rest b/w sets)

cable crossovers:  warmup set, 150 x 12, 12, 12

incline flys:  80 x 12, 12, 12

incline db press:  120 x 10, 11, 12

flat db press:  120 x 12, 12, 12, 12

notes:  13 working sets of fun in the blink of an eye!  This workout felt really good.  Yay for extra carbs!  I made progress on the incline flys and the flat press (finally!), but the incline press felt harder than usual.  Maybe doing the flys right before them instead of the crossovers pre-exhausted me more, makes sense!

 

And that was my day!  Some chest work, a spin class, lots of awesome food!  What about you?  Any good workouts today?

