Hadn’t fully escaped the insomnia yet.  I took a melatonin, took a hot shower, everything started off great Wednesday night.  Then Thursday morning I woke up about 2:30.  Tough time getting back to sleep, my body felt like it was time to up and at ’em!!!  You know when you want to sleep, but your body has so much energy that when you toss and turn you flop around like fish, practically flip yourself over doing these high-energy barrel rolls.  Basically it was hopeless.  By 3:45 am I said oh well, and got up.  Had some breakfast, started my day.  I didn’t exactly feel RESTED though.  Just not in the mood to be still.  So I decided no gym in the morning, I caught up on some tv, then went in to work as per usual.

At lunch I slipped out for some back work at the office gym.

Lunchtime Back:  (30 sec rest b/w sets)

widegrip pulldowns:  warmup set, 195 x 15, 15, 10, 12

widegrip t-bar rows:  115 x 12, 9, 8

one hand db row:  70 x 12/12, 12/12, 12/12

 

notes:  I had WANTED to do some assisted pullups, but the assist function was broken on the machine today, and I’m too fat and weak to do a regular pullup, so to hell with that, hahaha!   The pulldowns were really heavy though.  For the t-bar rows, I couldn’t stay bent over like I wanted to, I kept trying to stand up.  So whenever I felt myself standing up too much I stopped the set, so that is why my reps were kinda low, just wasn’t comfortable with the form.  db rows went well enough though.

I wanted to do hyperextensions but there was no handy half-platform for that at this gym.  I could try to hang off a bench, but I needed some way to keep my legs pinned down.  So I tried hanging off the t-bar platform, but it wasn’t low enough for my torso to hang clear.  I tried to do hyperextensions off the prone leg curl machine, but I crushed my nuts trying to do that, haha,  So I just gave up and went back to work.

It was a heavy back session for me but low volume, and pretty quick.

After work I came home, and just felt WORN OUT.  I was beat.  I couldn’t bring myself to go to the gym again after work, I was tired as heck.  I think everything caught up to me: sore neck,  the really heavy chest and legs session yesterday, 2 nights of insomnia, heavy back work.  I came home, ate some food, then passed out on the couch for 40 minutes.  I need lots of rest, time to rebuild, and profit from all this hard work.  Rest is the foundation of fitness, never forget that.

 

How about you?  Any good workouts?

