Ugh, 4 days in a row of working out.  I am thrashed.

Got up at 5 am, had a grapefruit.  stared at the computer screen for a minute then realized I was almost late for spin.  F*ck!  I hadn’t had any protein or yogourt or anything for breakfast, just the fruit.  I poured a shot of pre-workout (Assault, in honour of Danabolic’s blog!), ran to Spin. I only realized when I got home about 13 hours later that the full glass of Assault was still sitting there – I had poured my pre-workout drink, then just turned around and walked out of my house.  How fried was my brain???

When I got to Spin, I quickly realized I had ZERO energy, that Spin was murderrrrrr….. no surprise I guess, I hadn’t had any protein that morning, hadn’t eaten my usual foods, no quick fats, not even a glass of pre-workout pep… I was running on empty and I felt it hard.  So I grunted and sweated my way through that ride, showered, felt the hunger kick in like a BEAST, then went out for my Friday cheat day breakfast.

IMG_2329

Pretty much right, crepe wrapped around eggs and cheese and ham, fruit, coffee, water, side of bacon.  They brought me an orange juice as well, but I couldn’t wait to get a pic of it all at once.  I soon realized they used a banana crepe for my ham omelette… WTF!??! A banana crepe?  That ruins it!

First-world problems, right??

So whatever, they were busy and I didn’t have forever, I just poured syrup on it and ate it anyways, my banana ham sandwich.

 

Work was real busy, I saved my energy for my workout after work!  My chest is still sore from my Wednesday workout!  Crazy!  I like DOMS in my chest, that means I am doing something right.

After work I headed to the studio, Leslie the trainer is back from her vacation!  Yay!  I realized I hadn’t trained arms in 10 days… where did the time go??  So we did arms.

Arms:  Supersets!  back and forth, minimal rest

5 min warmup on elliptical

dumbbell curls & dumbbell skullcrushers:  50 x 12&12; 60 x 12&12, 12&12

rope hammer curls & V pushdowns:  90&120 x 15&15, 15&15, 15&15

IMG_2330

hammer curls

no V-bar so we used the rope :)

no V-bar so we used the rope 🙂

 

incline dumbbell curl & dumbbell kickbacks:  40&30 x 12&12; 50&30 x 12&12, 12&12

IMG_2333

kickbacks

kickbacks

double concentration curls & overhead two-hand dumbbell extensions:  50&45 X 12&15; 60&55 X 12&15; 60&65 x 12&15

IMG_2339

IMG_2340

cable curls with the straight bar & closegrip incline pushups:  100 x 12; 120 x 10, 12 & 12, 15, 15

IMG_2345

back soaked!

back soaked!

Abs!

single leg raise and crossover touch x 12, 12, 12

IMG_2352

double crunches x 12, 12, 12

abdominal pendulum:  bent knee x 15, we tried straight legs and that didn’t happen at all LOL, so the third set we did side planks

IMG_2356

 

notes:  been too long without arms! I don’t think I was able to get 100% back into the intensity, I was too distracted with being social and witty and clever with my friends, but I will try and fix that for next time 🙂  After the abs, we also did some chest stretches.  Taking what my massage dude said seriously!  Gotta fix that front imbalance.

We also took some time before the workout to talk about my goals.  I want to lose more weight, obviously.  I am still in the 300s, I want to break into the 200s so bad!!!  Very close!  I want to get my body fat below 20%, I want to put on another 10 pounds of muscle, I want to build a lot more strength in the basic compound exercises, I want to take on another hot yoga challenge, etc!

I also need to hit my back harder, if I have to choose I will lighten up on chest and do more back.  I don’t want my front to grow too fast and overpower my back, I need to balance to what is lagging.

I am happy with my diet, I am happy with the 3 on 1 off body parts twice a week split, I am happy with the morning cardio.  I just need to tweak the exercises a bit, and put yoga back in the mix.

 

I am excited for the summer, aren’t you?  I can’t wait to do more hard work and have it show!  Already everyone I know can see I have put on muscle, it is plain to see.  I want more of that, more muscle.  Maybe it’s a guy thing, but it feels good 🙂

But when I left the studio and came home, the back workout from Thursday hit me, and my arms are ALREADY sore from tonight, so I am about to crash hard.  4 days in a row is brutal!  I need a rest day like crazy.

Good night all!

