As I sit here typing this, I think these carrots I bought are no good.  Do you know how depressing it is to buy a bag of baby carrots because you are so damn lazy you won’t buy normal carrots, then open up a bag and see that they are all kinda slimy???  Last week I bought some organic celery, and as I was peeling stalks off, I found an adult fly, frozen solid in between the celery stalks.  It kind of makes you sad, and has left me a little hypersensitive to veggies that don’t fit my ideals of taste and texture.  I think that once I eat my way through this jar of hummus I bought, I am throwing the rest of these game-y looking baby carrots out.

When I woke up Saturday, I was in a world of hurt.  I was worn out from 4 days of weight training, and my neck was aching pretty bad.  I went for groceries (where I bought those damn carrots), and then came home and pretty much slept all day.  I watched a few episodes of Hemlock Grove on Netflix, which NEVER fails to put me to sleep (no idea what’s even going on in that show), and took painkillers as needed.  Basically reset my body, went into emergency stasis.

Sunday when I woke up, I felt a lot better!  As it was Mother’s Day, the first thing I did was spend the morning on the phone with my mother (she lives far away).  I am always concerned about her health, and I hope now that winter is over, she gets out a lot more, enjoys the weather and goes for lots of walks.  My mom has been through a lot, multiple knee surgeries, major whiplash, chronic pain, breast cancer, and she is in a place right now where she can enjoy her retirement, and I want to make sure she stays active so she can enjoy it more.

She is also very happy for my recent weight loss, and talking to her got me pumped to go to the gym!  I went to the gym for some chest and triceps action.

Chest & Tri:  (30 sec rest b/w sets)

incline db fly:  warmup set, 90 x 12, 12, 12

low cable crossover:  60 x 12, 12, 12

incline db press:  120 x 15, 15, 15

flat db press:  130 x 12, 12, 7, 6

rope pushdowns:  60 x 12, 10; DROPSET a.60 x 8, 40 x 6, 20 x 12 (partial reps); b.60 x 8, 40 x 6, 20 x 12 (partial reps)

two hand db extensions: 75 x 12, 8, 8

low cable extension:  50 x 15; 60 x 15, 14

dumbbell skullcrushers:  50 x 20, 12, 11

cardio:  35 min on the elliptical, variable resistance

 

notes:  this particular gym has a reputation for some sticky cables, so I knew I had to bring the weight down on the cable movements.  Instead of cable crossovers, I thought I would try some low ones, meaning my arms start low and I bring the cables up high and in front of me.  They felt great!  Hard too.

Incline press went quite well, although I BARELY made it through the last set.  This meant of course I was fried for the flat press, and sure enough I barely made it through the second set, so the third and fourth beat me up pretty hard.

Then those rope pushdowns!  What a blow to my ego.  That sticky cable feed made me drop the weight by about HALF.  And they felt heavy as F.  It was all good though, it’s still work, no matter what the weight says.

 

How about you?  Any good workouts?

