I felt like I had a lot of time in the gym to make up for, so I headed down Sunday morning for an epic gym session.

Got in the gym just as it opened, the plan was:  do legs for an hour, then do a spin class, then do arms.

Legs:

45 degree Leg Press (60 sec b/w sets):  180×50, 270×40, 450×30, 630×20, 810×10, 860×10, 900×8

superset – leg extensions and leg curls (no rest, back and forth 4 times):  150 x15/15, 15/15, 15/15, 15/15

Spin – 1 hr

leg notes: I am happy with the leg press, new weight for me!  I know I can do more, but I am getting used to it.  After 8 reps, I noticed my knees starting to track out, so  I called it quits there.  Hands stayed on the handles, gripping so tight it made my tendonitis flare up!  haha  I went deep as I could, meaning my thighs were pressed into my gut, which made it sort of like a rest, lol!  Don’t do that one on a full stomach, keep it empty cause your thighs will push into your stomach.

I was thinking of doing squats, but my neck was just starting to feel better, so I kept it simple.  No squats just yet.

The superset was fun, just light and a pump to get the blood flowing before spin.  My quads were quite tired though!  150 would normally feel much easier.

Spin was awkward, there was an older lady subbing in for Andrea.  I use the term older because she made fun of her own age at one point.  She said lots of awkward things, like shouting “how does that feel, baby?”  I cringed a lot.  But I got a good sweat in.

 

Then time for arms!  For fun, I decided to do something different – I tried a workout from Youtube!  A channel called Physiques of Greatness has a workout called “Curls for the Girls, Vol 1”, basically supersets of biceps and triceps, which I do anyways, but sometimes it is fun to switch it up.  By the way, PoG is a great channel, check it out if you are on Youtube

http://www.youtube.com/user/PhysiquesOfGreatness

So I launch into “Curls for the Girls, Vol 1” (there is a Vol 2 and 3 I will also try), and during my first superset, who shows up???  Leslie my trainer!  I guess Curls for the Girls works after all, a girl appeared 5 min into starting, damn!  Les was ALSO about to do arms, so I suggested we team up on this workout, take turns supersetting.  So off we went.

Arms:  (took turns supersetting, I did a superset, then she did, back and forth)

closegrip bench press & strict curls:  80 x 12/12, 12/7, 12/7

bench dips (feet elevated) & seated db curls (40 lb db’s):  12/12, 12/12, 12/12

reverse curls & French press:  40 x 12/12, 50 x 12/12, 12/12

one-arm preacher hammer curls (30 lb db’s) & v-bar pressdowns (150 lbs):  15/15, 15/15, 15/15

wrist curls and reverse wrist curls:  50 x 15/15, 15/15, 15/8

notes:  Les didn’t do the wrist curls, she went off to do her cardio.  I was really disappointed by the first round, 80 was WAY too light for the closegrip press, but my tendonitis flared up on the curls and I could barely do them.  I thought it would be cool to use the same weight and save time, but I really should have grabbed 2 different weights.

I don’t normally do dips, they mess up my shoulder, but the bench dips felt fine (Les used the dip machine).  After the press and curl debacle, everything else felt WAY light, my forearm tendonitis stayed quiet, even during the preacher hammer curls.  Next time I do this routine I will go heavier for sure.  I kept it light in case my arms groaned at me, but I was overly cautious; go heavy or go home!

Except for the wrist curls, my tendonitis popped up during the normal curls, but not the reverse ones.  By the third superset, my forearms were so tired, they gave out during the reverse curls.

 

Then I was done!  I looked at the clock, I had been at the gym 3 hours!!  Holy crap!  There might be something wrong with me, haha.  I must be sick in the head!  Long weekend, Sunday, gym for 3 hours.  I went home for some steak and a nap.

 

And that is my workout for the day!  How about you?  any good workouts this weekend?

