I hear it is Memorial Day down in the United States!  Hope you are enjoying the long weekend, to all my American brothers and sisters.

Today I took a lot of rest, got a lot of TLC, then geared up for lots of squats.

In the morning I took advantage of a free fascia stretch service this trainer was offering, at the gym.  She took my legs and hips through various range of motions exercises and worked on stretching out my fascia, which is the sheath that covers the muscle.  Most stretches only stretch the muscle, but stickiness between the fascia and the muscle can lead to all sorts of issues, so specialized fascia TLC is often a good idea.

In the afternoon I went for an acupressure treatment (this one was not free, haha).  I had him work on my neck, traps and shoulders for an hour.  Super painful!  But needed.

Right after that, I headed to my appt with the personal trainer.  Today was leg day, and I had a special request for Leslie:  my squats are lagging pretty hard, so let’s just do squats for an hour, and I can work on my form.  Start light, work the weight up slowly, low reps, decent rest between sets.  Just keep building.  Right away Les could see my core was giving out when I got to a certain advanced depth, so she had me do almost all of my sets onto a bench – go all the way down past parallel to the bench, tap my butt for a second, then drive back up.

Leg Day Squat Clinic:  (60-120 sec b/w sets)

115×5, 125×5, 135×5, 145×5, 155×5, 165×5, 185×5, 195×5, 205×5, 215×5, 225×5, 235×5, 245×5, 245×5

Assorted Ab work

notes:  As you can see, I kept the reps low, started light, just kept slowly adding on more weight, and observing how it affected my form.  Yup, 14 sets of squats!!  It was no joke, I was sweating up a storm.  After set 14, I almost physically ran away from the squat rack, I could take no more, lol.

Les was a great set of eyes and spotted me the whole way.  This is the priceless bonus of a trainer, right around set 11 or so I was really dreading the next set, and her encouragement really kept me going, helped me push my way to a PR!  245 is a PR for me, I don’t think I have ever even TRIED to squat more than 225, so I am very happy!

Proof it was a good session?  In the locker room I could see a barbell shaped bruise across my shoulders, check it out!

IMG_2399

At that point, squats had taken 45 minutes, we went at it hard but there was still some time left so we did 3 sets of ab exercises, kind of a Turkish half-get-up for each side, then some straight leg lifts with hip lifts at the top.  I was SOOO tired!  I went home, and could feel my legs turning into noodles.

Simple workout, yet deadly!  How about you?  Any good workouts?

