Saturday was a day off.  I did a spin class in the morning, did some shopping, generally rested.

Sunday I got up and went to the gym for some spin and back.

Spin was alright, once again I sweated extra hard, I think the humidity in the gym hasn’t been addressed yet.  It definitely is not air conditioned like the rest of the mall.  After spin I got ready for Back work.  I was actually a little nervous, this back routine was going to be a monster one, and I was nervous taking it on at full strength, much less post-cardio.  But no way around, just gotta do it.

Back (30 sec rest b/w all sets)

widegrip pulldowns:  2 warmup sets, 195 x 12, 12, 12, 12

underhand pulldowns:  180 x 12, 12, 12, 12

t-bar rows:  115 x 10, 12, 10, 6

closegrip machine row:  195 x 12, 12, 12

closegrip cable row:  195 x 12, 12, 9

hyperextension machine:  300 x 15, 15, 15, 15

 

notes:  this routine was heavy and volume and fast-paced.  I pretty much had to get aggressive right from the start, and grunt just to build up the momentum that will carry you through.  Working out is always a balance of finding just how much you can break yourself down without stopping you cold.  You want intense, you want a routine that fills you with a bit of fear, but not too much fear.  You want to push the limit, not trip over it.  You know you hit the sweet spot when you realize your routine is so insane that if you stop to question yourself, you will lose your confidence and drop out.  Maybe 22 working sets is nothing to the next guy, but for me, this workout was pretty much all I could handle, and if I stopped to come up for air, I wouldn’t be able to keep up the momentum.

The t-bar rows are deceptively heavy.  The weight doesn’t seem like much, but it was tough!  The setup is also a little too small for me, I can’t fully rest against the pad, and end up crushing my groin to try and get into position, which is distracting.  I failed out on the cable rows, not purely due to the weight, but the handlebar was really rough and tearing up my calluses.  Next time I will go look for a rubber grip, at least until the calluses thicken up.

I walked away from that workout COVERED in sweat!

 

What about you?  Any good workouts?

