Monday before the challenge starts, Day 2 of the new Diet, Day 1 of the new workout regimen.

Diet is going ok.  I am trying lots of new things for this challenge – coconut oil, a food scale, prepping all my meals in advance.  Gotta give it my all!

The workout was trash.  My low back gave out early on and screwed up pretty much every exercise.  But at least I bought new shoes!

 

Legs & Abs (30 sec rest b/w all sets)

Squat to a Bench (45 sec rest here):  warmup, 225 x 8, 8, 8, 8

warm up

warm up

stationary db lunges:  45s x 12; 35s x 12, 12

stiff-legged deadlift:  185 x 12, 10; 135 x 12

IMG_2428

prone leg curls: 95 x 12, 12; 85 x 15; 75 x 15

IMG_2429

exercise ball crunches:  25, 25, 25, 25

plank:  45 sec, 45, 45

bicycle crunches:  30, 30, 30

prone leg raises:  15, 15, 15

weighted standing calf raises:  120 x 25, 25, 25, 25

 

notes:

For those who crap on squatting to a bench, form is king so if my trainer says my core is too weak in the pocket and I need to use a bench, then I will.  No ego, just work.  As opposed to a box squat, when you squat to a bench, you just tap your butt for a second, you don’t sit down and relax your hips.

Early on in the squats (Set 2), my trainer could see my lower back giving out, so she had me not go down as low as the bench.  I guess that makes them half squats or whatever, which puts more of the emphasis on the quads.  Again, it was a blow to the ego, but you can’t live inside your own head, you have to trust the process.

Slowing down the descent and keeping it in the quads made my inflamed IT band act up, and each time by rep 8 it was burning pretty good so I didn’t make it to rep 10.  I need some massage work on that I think.  IT band stayed quiet for the rest of the workout.

With wobbly burning legs and a weak core, the lunges were brutal.  They pretty much destroyed my energy for the rest of the session, I was doubled over and sucking wind in between sets, other people were asking me if I was okay, but I needed to keep pushing and get through it.  Not all workouts get to be awesome, some of them are just disasters, and you have to harvest what gains you can.

My form deteriorated on the SLDL, so I had to drop weight just to get the work into my hams.  prone leg curls were weaker than usual as well.

To try and make it up, I threw an extra movement into the ab work (leg raises).  Planks had to be downgraded from extended planks to standard planks to planks from knees as well, since my lower back was too worn out.

A rough day for sure!

Not going to stop!  This challenge might well turn out to be the hardest thing I have ever done, but I won’t stop – just stop thinking about it and push forward.

See you soon!

IMG_2426

