After the good news on Friday, I began to think ahead to Week 4 – how can I do things better than Week 3?  It may sound crazy, but this challenge only runs until the end of July, just a few weeks left!!

Luckily, my trainer is of the same mindset as me.  She prepared a new diet plan for me (thanks Les!) which will take me into the realm of carb cycling… I already cycled carbs a bit when I was having cheat days, but this time no cheat days only high and low carb days.  For more info on carb cycling, why don’t you check out my trainers blog??  Lots of good info!

http://getfitwithles.wordpress.com/2013/07/06/carb-cycling-what-it-is-and-how-it-works/

I need to stock up on groceries and supps, so I will have to start it on Wednesday.  But looking forward to it!

 

I had been icing my Teres Major lots, so Sunday I wanted to do some shoulders, test the wings out.  Arms and Shoulders.

Sunday Workout:

Machine Lat Raises (30 sec rest) 90 x 8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 7

Tricep Giant Set (60 sec rest b/w giant sets)  Closegrip Smith Machine Press & Skullcrushers & French Press

A.  110×12 & 50×12 & 50×12  B.  110×12 & 50×12 & 50×5  C.  110×12 & 50×12 & 50×7

Cardio Break – Spin Class

Bicep Giant Set (60 sec rest b/w giant sets) Fat Hammer Curls & EZ Bar Preacher & Reverse Preachers

A.  35×12 & 50×12 & 50×12  B.  35×12 & 50×12 & 50×7  C.  35×12 & 50×12 & 50×8

Rope Face Pulls (10 sec rest) 50 x 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10

Cable Upright Rows (30 sec rest) 115 x 12, 12, 12

 

Notes:  Once again, the tricep giant set as originally planned is impossible to execute in that gym, so I had to improvise.  People just love that cable machine, if you walk away from it for 30 seconds, someone WILL jump in.  Doesn’t matter if its 6 am or 6 pm, not gonna happen, you either camp there or move on.

I got to the gym late, so once I was done lat raises and triceps, I had to run off to Spin class.  Which went fine, my usual craziness on the flat races.  Then the rest after spin class.

Biceps I decided to improvise because I wanted to isolate my biceps so I could avoid pulling on my scapula like last week.  Hammer curls (not across the body ones) felt fine so I kept those in but made them first, and then did the other 2 sets on the preacher bench so I could zero in on the biceps.  Worked well enough.  Always be ready to improvise instead of giving up.

I then tried out the shoulder exercises I knew had a good chance of irritating my teres major.  I did face pulls first, and sure enough I didn’t feel it while doing it, but I sure felt tight in the teres after I stopped.  So I decided no rear delt flys for me today (sacrilege!!! I love those).  I also wasn’t sure how shrugs would feel without my trainer watching my form, so I did some upright rows instead as a consolation.

And that was my workout!  Not bad for an injured man!  How was your Sunday?  Any good workouts?

