Tuesday, the day just got away from me.  Supplement shopping, food cooking, food prep, general tiredness.  I thought I could slip away at lunch during work for a workout, but it just wasn’t possible.  So now here it was in the evening, ate my dinner, more food cooked, deciding workout or no?  This time I chose to hold nothing back, and went to the gym.

8 pm crowd is definitely a different crowd than 5 pm crowd.  Less chatty, more get in, get it done, get out.  A sober crowd.  No older gentleman, they tend to be in bed by 8, hahaha.  Now, 6 am crowd?  Lots of older dudes.  8 pm crowd?  Night owls and desperate people, like me 🙂

My main worry was that I would be too ramped up to get a decent night’s sleep when I got back home.  But the work had to get done, and I either let it slip by a day, or take it head-on, inconvenience and all.

Chest & Back:

Lying T-Bar Row (30-45 sec rest) 70 x 12, 90 x 12, 135 x 10, 10, 10, 10

Widegrip Pulldowns (30 sec rest) 120 x 10, 135 x 10, 150 x 10, 165 x 10, 180 x 10, 195 x 10, 210 x 10, 225 x 5, 5

closegrip row 100s set:  30, rest 70, 30, rest 40, 25, rest 15, 15

flat smith press (30 sec rest) (weight does not include bar) 50 x 10, 100 x 6, 140 x 10, 10, 7, 5

incline db fly (30 sec rest) 50s x 12, 12, 12

flat db press (30 sec rest) 70s x 10, 8, 7, 5

cable crossovers (30 sec rest) 100 x 12, 121 x 12, 143 x 12, 165 x 10, 9

notes:  I wasn’t so strict about the sets tonight.  My plan was to see how my Teres (shoulderblade) felt, test out different weight, and keep doing sets until I felt ready to move on.  T-Bar rows felt good at 3 plates so I kept doing them until I instinctively wanted to walk away, which was after 4 sets at that weight, ha.  Widegrip pulldowns felt good, I started light and kept climbing until I couldn’t do 10 reps with control, and then stayed at that weight.  In the end it was 9 sets of that.  Closegrip rows I would do reps until the Teres felt sore.  So it was a light workout for that area specifically, and decided to only do one 100s set, not two as per usual.  Chest work felt fine on the Teres, but my pecs just got wore out, haha.  I went lighter on the flys because the weight I wanted was taken, so I just went slow with the 50s, and held it at the bottom for a sec or two to get a stretch.  By the time it was time for flat db press, I was tired as heck, so my reps kept slipping.  Cable crossovers felt good though, I kept my arms straight and worked my way up like I did with the pulldowns.

And you know what my reward was?  I looked in the mirror at the gym and saw a completely different person than the one I knew for years.  Someone leaner, meaner, committed and focused.

How about you?  Any good workouts?

