Woke up on Saturday, right elbow was so sore I could barely straighten my arm.  Left shoulderblade was ok, but I knew it was recovering.  Just generally felt beat up, haha.  That must mean it’s Rest day! Oh wait it’s not!  It’s Leg Day!  My legs felt fine, so I guess I wasn’t totally beat up.

Still, I rested up a chunk of the day (low carb day), iced my arm, bought some meat, did some cleaning.  My apt building was rife with flies today, it was odd.  I killed 3 in my apt (my elbow was toast so I couldn’t play the swat game with them so I cheated and just sprayed them, which slowed them down).  In my building’s lobby I found like 6 dead ones right around the A/C unit.  This either makes me think something is in the air which is poison but I’m just too big for it to put a dent in me but all the flies are dying off like miners’ canaries… or the flies have reached the end of their life cycle, and a batch of baby flies are about to be born.  I found both possibilities HORRIFYING.

In the early evening my elbow felt halfway normal so I went to the gym (I keep saying the gym like it’s one place, I cycle between about 4 gyms regularly, so let’s call this one Gym B… I am sure this makes it WAY clearer for you).  I picked Gym B because it had a hack squat machine.  I decided, I need to do legs, but I can barely use my arms today, so we gotta rely on the machines.  Because the machines target or isolate the areas so closely, it would be best to hit my legs from a variety of angles.  This means volume and variety.

Legs (30 sec rest b/w all sets)

Hack Squat 225 x 10, 315 x 10, 405 x 10, 455 x 10

(hack squat good for hitting the outer thigh)

Reverse Hack Squat 225 x 12, 315 x 12, 405 x 12

when I look for images of this exercise, it’s mostly pics of women, wonder why? …

(hits the hamstrings and glutes, sit in the hack squat machine backwards, keep chest against pad)

Superset Leg Press w/ feet high on platform and w/ feet low on platform  300 x 12&12, 12&12, 12&12, 12&12

(leg press hits the inner thigh; feet high hits the hams and glutes more, while feet low is more quad-dominant)

Seated Leg Curls 160 x 12, 12, 12, 12

Leg Extensions 160 x 12, 170 x 12, 180 x 12

Prone Leg Curls 130 x 15, 15, 15, 15

(I like prone leg curl machine since I get a good stretch out of it when I lower slowly, and the weight distribution lets me pause at maximum flexed position to feel it in my butt and hams.  Seated leg curl on the other hand, I can go heavier and tend to explode more.  Don’t know if the muscles angles’ are different, but it is a different feeling, and I like working the muscles in both ways, the slow stretch and the quick push).

Calf Raise Machine 300 x 25, 21, 24

(I don’t normally use a machine, but I saw a vid recently on toe pointing during calf raises, and I thought a machine would give me the chance to try it out.)

notes:  I know the leg press weight was kind of light, but it helped me flush my legs out after the hack squats.  Being machines meant I used my legs, but it wasn’t so taxing on the entire CNS system, so I could do lots of different exercises.  Nevertheless, when I was done, my legs were wobbly when I walked out of the gym, so wobbly I didn’t consider cardio for even a moment, and I am sure the DOMS on Sunday or Monday will be delicious!  And that was my Saturday!  How about you?  Any good workouts?

