I haven’t done a 2 workout day in a while, so I knew this would be draining.  Plus I feel like I am fighting off a bug, so I have been taking extra glutamine today, help keep my immune system fueled.

 

First thing in the morning I walked into the gym at opening for some shoulders!

AM Shoulders (about 60 sec rest)

Smith Machine behind the head shoulder press:  50+bar x 10; 100 x 8, 8, 8

shoulder press machine done with 1 arm:  30 x 10/10; 50 x 10/10, 10/10, 10/10 DROP 30 x 12/12

Superset dumbbell lateral raise from sides with dumbbell lateral raises starting from behind back:  (40×16/20×15) x 3 sets

dumbbell shrugs: 120 x 10; 200 x 20, 20, 20

cable reverse fly (30 sec rest) 33 x 10; 55 x 15, 15, 15, 15, 15, 15, 15

 

notes:  the theme for this workout was “shoulder movements I find awkward or that I need to do to build up my weak spots”.  Once my arm breaks the plane of my body going from lateral to slightly behind me lateral, that’s when my shoulder sprain and rotator cuff come together in a really messed up way… so these were light weight exercises I did to test out the weak parts of my ROM.  Well, except for shrugs, those were just fun 🙂

 

It was awkward but important in terms of building up the weak parts of my shoulder, so I did it slowly and carefully and I think it came out alright!

 

Then I went to work.  When I was at work, I took a coworker out at lunch and showed her some chest and tricep exercises (and we did some ab and core work too).  She admitted to me that if it wasn’t for me, she would NEVER be using free weights or even body weights, she would just do a quick around the world tour of the gym machines, and even that she hadn’t done in a long time.  She would NEVER think of grabbing dumbbells and trying to bench press them!

When you build up confidence in the gym, you owe it to the world to help other people out.  Bro science gets a bad rap, at the core of it is people trying to help other people get in a good workout.  I would like to think my guidance is pretty solid, and if nothing else, it will help her build confidence to use all the choices available to her at the gym!

 

After work, I headed to the studio for my second workout:  a fullbody session with Leslie!

Fullbody weights (about 60 sec rest)

20 min cardio warmup

Barbell Squat to Bench (just tap the bench with your butt) 135 x 8, 155 x 8, 175 x 8, 185 x 8

IMG_2727

Smith Machine Bench Press:  140+bar x 8, 150 x 8, 160 x 8, 8

IMG_2732

Band Assisted Pullups (varied grip)  8, 8, 8, 8

IMG_2735

Standing Military Press:  45 x 8; 65 x 8; 75 x 8, 8

IMG_2737

Barbell Bicep Curls:  75 x 10, 8, 7, 8

IMG_2741

Ab Roller:  2 sets of 12

 

notes:  workout felt good!  Squats I am happy I got some time in practising them, I feel I would like to become much more confident about my form with those, so I can build up my strength.  Bench press felt good, pullups (though assisted) felt good, shoulder press was a little weak, not surprising considering I did them this morning.

 

And that was my day!  I was in the gym like 3 times all told.  That’s dedication!  How about you?  Did you make it to the gym today?

