I decided I wanted to sleep in Wednesday morning, so I thought it might be fun to try the gym at work again.  It was shoulders day, hooray!  (sarcasm)

Noontime Shoulders (no time for cardio or twists, just time for iron) (45-60 sec rest)

A.  Superset DB side Raises and Front Plate Raises:  triple drop set of side raises then front raise with optional “bus driver”

warmup;

25s x 8 DROP 15s x 6 DROP 10s x 10 then 45 plate x 12

25s x 9 DROP 20s x 8 DROP 15s x 10 DROP 10s x 12 then 45 plate x 12

25s x 5 DROP 20s x 5 DROP 15s x 10 DROP 10s x 12 then 45 plate x 12

notes:  this was HARD!  I normally avoid side raises with DBs, I find it easier to keep good form with the machine, with the DBs my forearms keep drifting above my elbows.  Nothing wrong with going light as long as its challenging I guess, but when I use the machine I can focus on just the muscle, when I use DBs I spend most of my energy keeping my form disciplined.  More holistic that way I guess, meh.

Remember with DB side raises!  Keep your elbow higher than your forearm!  The straighter your arm gets the harder it gets! Try not to swing, either your arms, or swing your butt in and out!  I see people violate these guidelines in the gym ALL THE TIME.  I used to do it wrong all the time too, then Leslie kicked my butt 🙂

The downshot of it is that I am forced to go light on db side raises.  Even worse, drop sets meant that form got harder and harder to maintain, so my reps on that exercise are hella low (I stopped when I could not correct my form), and the weights are so low that I cant reduce them without losing the ability to do a triple drop set.  Oh my, did it burn!  It burned even worse if I rested my arms by my sides.  Lesson learned:  it hurts more if you stop!

For the front plate raises, you take a 45 pound plate, grip it at 9 and 3, and front raise it.  It works your shoulders and your grip too, since it is more irregular to hold onto than a dumbbell.  The “bus driver”?  That’s when you twist the plate back and forth like a steering wheel at the top of the front raise.  Try it!  I admit, I was so tired by that point I only got in a few bus drivers at all, I had to give up on that add-on.

 

B.  Superset Seated Smith Machine Military Press and Reverse Pec Deck:  double drop sets of presses and then a straight set of pec deck

warmup;

130 + bar x 10 DROP 100 x 8 DROP 50 x 10 then 90 x 8

130 + bar x 10 DROP 100 x 7 DROP 50 x 10 then 75 x 12

130 + bar x 10 DROP 100 x 5 DROP 50 x 10 then 75 x 12

notes:  I decided Smith since they didn’t have a good setup in this gym for seated military.  Plus my low back was still sore as HECK from a few days ago!

I originally wanted to do triple drop sets, but I was running out of time before I had to go back to work, and the weight combos made it awkward to do a triple drop, so I set it up in a way that I could strip the weight faster.  In the end I gave every drop of sweat I had for that first weight, then had nothing left for the first drop, then the second drop was light enough I could just rep those out easy.  I lowered the weight on the reverse pec deck though, it was too heavy by that point.

 

C.  DB Shrugs:  190 x 20, 20, 20

notes:  this gyms dumbbells only went up to 95!?  What kind of crap is that?  LOL, in the end it was still heavy.  I also ended up crushing my thumb in between the 2 dumbbells when I reracked them, so its been throbbing all day and the nail now has a bit of discoloration!  Ouch!

 

D.  Superset Seated Calf Raise and Standing Calf Raises:  triple drop sets of seated then bodyweight calf raises as many as possible (AMAP, bouncing)

140 x 12 DROP 105 x 12 DROP 70 x 12 DROP 35 x 12 then BW x 80 bouncing

140 x 12 DROP 105 x 12 DROP 70 x 12 DROP 35 x 12 then BW x 80 bouncing

notes:  this was surprisingly easy!  I set up 35 plates on the seated machine so I could strip the drops easily, then for the bodyweight raises I allowed myself to ignore slow controlled form and just bounce as many as I wanted.  In the end I chose 80 because I was getting bored and it was time to go back to work!  I guess my calves can take more of a beating than that!  After 2 supersets I was late, so I split.

 

And that was my workout for the day! Sore low back, smashed thumb, burning shoulders, what a day.

