Made it to the gym early again for a quick and intense superset workout.  I am liking this format for a while.  It isn’t a crazy leave everything on the floor workout, but it does get me pumped for a full day of work, so maybe that is just right for a weekday morning.

I also started trying a new protein bar post-workout!  Have you heard of the Quest bar?

IMG_2866

They are very popular these days.  I picked up a mixed box of flavours, and will parcel them out amongst my workouts, let you know what I think.  The ingredient profile is pretty solid, lots of protein, lots of fibre, good taste.

WordPress seems to be having issues uploading pics tonight, so I will have to leave it at that one!  I tried coconut cashew after my workout – it also has almonds and tapioca in it!  How did it taste?  It was very chewy, just a bit under tough, but not unpleasant.  Protein bars can get like that when they’re not draped in chocolate.  I could certainly taste the coconut, but not the cashews.  So maybe the coconut was put in there to carry the taste, since the cashews wouldn’t come through.  It made me full though, overall not a bad bar.
So, I didn’t just sit there sampling protein bars, I also worked out!  Again, an early morning session, 6 am or slightly earlier.  I supersetted chest and back.
AM Chest and Back (60 sec b/w ssets)
A.  Incline Flys and Widegrip Pulldowns:  warmup;
50s x 15 & 150 x 15
50s x 15 & 150 x 15
50s x 15 & 150 x 15
B.  Flat Flys and Underhand Pulldowns
50s x 15 & 150 x 15
50s x 15 & 150 x 15
50s x 15 & 150 x 15
C.  Cable Crossovers and Straight Arm Pulldowns
140 x 15 & 70 x 15
150 x 15 & 70 x 15
160 x 15 & 70 x 14
D.  DB Shrugs (30 sec rest)
200 x 15
200 x 15
200 x 15
E.  Cardio 20 min
I got the weights done in 40 min so the whole thing took an hour!  That left me time to shower, go home, eat breakfast, then go to work!  Awesome!  And that was my workout today.

