Early Morning Back and Shoulders (4 sec negative on every rep no exceptions, 45 sec rest b/w sets unless indicated)

Underhand Grip Cable Rows
150 x 8
150 x 8
170 x 8
170 x 8 DROP 140 x 6 DROP 110 x 10

One Arm DB Row (no rest, back and forth arm to arm)
60 x 15/15
60 x 12/12
60 x 10/10
60 x 8/8

Bent Over BB Row
135 x 8
135 x 8
135 x 8
135 x 8 DROP 115 x 10

Rear Delt Cable Fly
40 x 15
40 x 15
40 x 15
40 x 15

Side Raise Machine (love this so much more than dumbbells!)
60 x 8
80 x 8
80 x 8
100 x 8 DROP 80 x 7 DROP 60 x 10

Seated DB Press
30s x 20
30s x 20
30s x 15
30s x 14

notes:  My low back got soooo sore during the DB rows, maybe I had not been sleeping that well and it needed more rest.  Out of fear that I was going to mess myself up for the workday, I went light on the bent over rows, and kind of regretted it.  Ran out of gas even going light on the pressing movement, no surprise there, even if it was a finisher.

When I went to the side raise machine, there was an elderly gentleman sitting there, contemplating his next set.  I was real polite, said, “Pardon me sir, may I work in?”  And he grumbled and moved to the very next machine beside that one.  It was an overhead press type machine, so I thought nothing more of it.  I kept notice out of the corner of my eye, and he did 1 set on that, then moved ANOTHER machine to the left to the chest press machine.

I like to refer to this as a “bitch circuit”. This is a message in a bottle, and I doubt any newbies will read this, but please don’t do the bitch circuit, AKA 1 set on every single machine, working your way around in a circle.  Yeah its a fullbody, but you take 2 min in between each hop to the next machine.  Its like the worst of both worlds. PLUS, I know some gym chains (like Goodlife, where we were) put number stickers on their machines in case you want to do the bitch circuit, they give you a roadmap to work from largest muscle group to smallest.  And this old guy didn’t even follow the numbers, he just plopped his butt down on every machine in his immediate vicinity and popped out a couple of reps.  Last time I saw that, its because someone let a homeless guy into the gym and he was high as shit.

Maybe that’s harsh, but just don’t do the bitch circuit, please have a plan.  Not being age-ist either, there were 2 older ladies doing bench press with the EZ curl bars, and they were doing just fine, they clearly had a plan, they had sets they had reps, they sometimes supersetted with some oblique crunches, they obviously had worked this out in advance.

It’s the long weekend, hooray!

