Leg Day! My friend offered to come with me, and suggested we get at it early. So sure enough, I was there for 8 am on a Sunday… and sat there all gassed up on PWO with my thumb up my butt while I wait for Tardy Tim AKA Skip Bayless to show up.

After 5 min of that I decided F it, I will just start. I got done doing quads and just then my friend got there. So to be mean, I put her through all the quad movements alone while I barked at her, then we did Hams together, taking turns.

There were 2 reasons I wanted a buddy with me: rest periods would be slightly longer so I could do more weight, plus the workout itself would just be longer overall – and I wanted to see if Fast Fuel could keep it up as long as I could 🙂

I took my Fast Fuel 30 min before the workout, then I took another scoop 1 hour in to the workout. Mix good, energy good, carried me right through a 2 hour workout with no issues, I had just as much energy on the last movement as I did on the first one! PWO passed the extra-long workout test with flying colours! It was 2 scoops of course, but there was no crash, or issues with taking another scoop an hour later.

I took 1/2 a scoop of ReGen for the first hour, 1/2 a scoop for the second hour, then a full scoop for my post-drink. The workout itself was great, and I was so absorbed in the workout I can’t even remember the taste, but no issues. Mixed well, tasted good in the post- , I’m also not crab-walking or dying of exhaustion, so I think the ReGen did its job!

Oct 20 – Leg Isolation (about 45 sec b/w sets until my friend got there, full ROM, slow eccentric)

This was my slow-negative session, all about control. Slow down, then explode back up. I have gotten used to doing slow negs for 10 reps and under, but I am still new to high rep sets on this protocol, so I notice my energy dip quite fast as I get into the teens with those slow eccentrics.

One habit I had to break was that a slow negative isn’t the same as an isometric hold – you don’t squeeze it for 3 seconds then drop it. It should be a smooth lowering, whereas at the start it was a lot of fits and starts, go down quick for a bit then hold it for a second then keep lowering. So that was a learning curve, but it does seem to encourage full ROM, since you need that range to make those 3 or 4 seconds happen. As I get exhausted my mind speeds up and I count faster and faster, so the use of a clock is most definitely warranted to keep yourself honest. Or a partner to count! Which I had both of today.

By the way, most of the pics are of my friend – I’m a dude, so I figured you would naturally rather see a girl workout than me 🙂 Plus, butt shots! You’re welcome. That’s me on the seated curls though.

Part 1 Quads: (3 second negatives on every rep, 45 sec b/w all sets)

Leg Extensions
100 x 8
120 x 8
140 x 8

IMG_2964

45 Degree Leg Press (feet low and wide)
6 plates x 20
6 plates x 20
6 plates x 20
6 plates x 20

45 Degree Leg Press (feet high and wide)
12 plates x 8
12 plates x 8
12 plates x 8
12 plates x 8

Superset Leg Extensions and 1 Legged 45 Degree Press
100 x 20 & 4 plates x 15/15
100 x 20 & 4 plates x 15/15
100 x 15 & 4 plates x 12/12

IMG_2966

Part 2 Hamstrings: (traded sets back and forth with my partner, 3 second negatives)

Prone Leg Curl
110 x 10
130 x 10
130 x 10
130 x 10
Definitely noticed the effect of the increased rest periods, as I was able to bump the weight up right away.

IMG_2969

Barbell Stiff-Legged Deadlift
135 x 20
135 x 15
135 x 15
135 x 15
I was disappointed in these, my low back was SO sore, and it kept groaning at me the whole time, so I didn’t manage 20 even on this light weight. First my low back bitched and moaned, then my grip started to feel loose and I just said screw it and set it back down. So partially physical, partially mental.

IMG_2988

Seated Leg Curl (leaning forward)
110 x 8
120 x 8
130 x 8
140 x 8 DROP 110 x 7 DROP 90 x 8 DROP 70 x 10

triple drop set to finish! slow neg reps on every drop

IMG_2995

After we went out for sushi!

To close this off, a treat for you – we caught some dudes curling in the squat rack!

IMG_2978

